MMM – On the Wings of Love.

Well, I get to play Guest Host again today over at Mixed Media Monday… and I challenge you to create a piece of art (in any format), using “On the Wings of Love” as inspiration.

I chose this theme because it illustrates this mixed media canvas which started as a Layer Love Lesson, on canvas, and then progressed, slowly over a couple of months, becoming this canvas for DH’s birthday. Raven is his nickname and both these birdies are image transfers, using images from Ten Two Studios…

A little more detail…

Yep, that’s me on the right! The tags read, “Birds of a feather flock together, and love one another forever and ever…”

So that’s the story behind this 12″x8″ canvas! You probably recognise the handcarved stamps, and additional accents were made with Sharpie poster paint pens, bits of scrim (like string) and wool from the Scrapstore! Hope you join in with this week’s challenge – I look forward to seeing your creations!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. mixedmediamonday

     /  December 6, 2009

    This is such an amazing piece of art, Rosie! You can see how much love and thought has gone into it. I bet Mr. Raven is ravin’ about it (sorry, I know that’s bad). I simply love your art and having you as a guest host 🙂

    Reply
  2. Absolutely gorgeous!

    Reply
  3. Wow! I would love to see your canvas in full size and in the flesh (so to speak). What an amazing and inspiring creation for us . Mr Raven is a lucky man. Fantastic work.

    Reply
  4. Your DH will love this, it is fabulous. Great inspiration!

    Reply
  5. oh what fun!!! so wonderful to have you as the Guest hostess!!! I love your piece and had a lot of fun with this challenge!!!!

    Hugs
    Diana

    Reply
  6. This piece is so very wonderful! Such thought and care – I love the “dripping” details as well. Thank you for the inspiration this week! Kristin 🙂

    Reply
  7. Kathy

     /  December 7, 2009

    Love this, seems a bit haunting…right up my alley!

    Reply
  8. Gorgeous!

    Reply
  9. Sandy

     /  December 7, 2009

    OMG Rosie this is stunning.
    Amazing piece of wings. Gorgeous.

    Reply
  10. johanna

     /  December 7, 2009

    this is beyond any words i have!!! love birds, love the colors, the fiber framing is marvelous… just super!!

    Reply
  11. Love this so much. How romantic. Lovely. Lovely. Lovely (jubbly)!

    Reply
  12. Soooo great work Rosie !

    Reply
  13. Wow Rosie, your Mr. Raven is a lucky guy!! I love your canvas, the background is super and I love your Ravens!!

    Linda

    Reply
  14. Such an fantastic creation, Rosie. Beautifully presented!!
    Hugs and holiday wishes!
    Martina

    Reply
  15. This is SO original. I love it!

    Reply
  16. Rosie, your canvas is amazing, love everything about it.

    Reply
  17. Great idea. It’s really fantastic!!

    Reply
  18. barnie

     /  December 7, 2009

    Really a wonderful present for your DH.

    Reply
  19. Fantastic work! You are so talented Rosie!

    Reply
  20. All I can say is that your husband must have been thrilled with this piece. It is moody and rich in detail and texture. Loved it as soon as I saw it on MMM.

    Reply
  21. I know Mr. Raven must have loved this!

    Reply
  22. What a great gift for your husband! I love this piece, the design, the texture, the colors, everything!

    Reply
  23. I really like this blog. Please continue the great work. Regards!!!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo