Gothic arches – Transitions…

This week’s GA is hosted by Karen Owen, who says: ‘What do you think of when “transitions” is mentioned? Day to night, warm to cold, childhood to adulthood, one color to another…’

I was intrigued by this theme… how best to show a changing of the seasons and what that means to me? I chose one of my ‘shining stones’ background sheets, shades of green and brown inks and an old photo which I could cut up! I know, nothing is sacred to me when I’m in the ‘zone’!

Seasons

The stamps are tiny trees I rarely use – 4 or 5 different wood mounted stamps in all and the grass and music is Tandastamps (background set1). I didn’t want to handstitch the mohair all the way round, so I decided to enclose it in a zigzag stitch, like piping (?). I handwrote ‘To everything there is a season…’ as I was humming ‘turn, turn, turn…’ (*G*) The clock face is from Ali who sent me a grab bag of what she referred to as ‘bits’!! Thanks Ali! 😉

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

30 Comments

  1. FABULOUS!!! what a beautiful background and use of colors!!!

    Reply
  2. just wonderful!

    Reply
  3. Whow…really beautiful.

    Reply
  4. Sandy

     /  March 9, 2008

    Rosie my Dear, what a wonderful arch. Awesome.

    Reply
  5. Gorgeous!

    Reply
  6. Linda

     /  March 9, 2008

    What a beautiful arch!

    Reply
  7. What a beautiful arch!!!

    Reply
  8. gorgeous

    Reply
  9. Beautiful, great background.

    Reply
  10. Beatiful arch!

    Reply
  11. barnie

     /  March 9, 2008

    Wonderful interpretation, love your background.

    Reply
  12. This is a stunning arch – love your interpretation…

    Reply
  13. WOW!!! This is so gorgeous. Love it!
    Debby

    Reply
  14. Love your arches Rosie – brilliant. 😉 🙂

    Your take on the challenge below is beautiful. 😉 🙂

    Debbie x

    Reply
  15. Kathy

     /  March 9, 2008

    Very pretty arch.

    Reply
  16. Very beautiful…well done!

    Reply
  17. Really pretty arch

    Reply
  18. Wonderful arch!

    Reply
  19. Very well done! Amazing background!

    Reply
  20. Your arch is wonderful! Thank you for putting that song in my head, love that too! Lovely Artwork!

    Reply
  21. WOW!! Fantastic!

    Reply
  22. Very nice!

    Reply
  23. Lovely background and image, Rosie!

    Reply
  24. Love the background you created. Lovely!

    Reply
  25. Fabulous arch, I love the background

    Reply
  26. very nice! great interpretation of transitions.

    Joanne

    Reply
  27. “…to everything there is a season…”, one of my favorite bible verses! Great choice for transition! Your skill and talent are evident in this beautiful arch!
    Creatively Yours, Laura

    Reply
  28. Love that GA! Very nice job 😉

    Reply
  29. Such a lovely pretty arch, really nice interpretation too 🙂

    Reply
  30. gorgeous composition! I love the images and background and the stitching is such a beautiful touch!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

