TGIF – Tags…. by me!!

This week I am the Guest Designer over at Thank God It’s Friday challenge blog! I’d like to thank Heike, Sandy & Sabine for asking me to ‘host’ this challenge. I do enjoy making tags and for them, I decided to make something a little different and a bit more complex – a Tag-holder.

I was inspired by Sarah Sandberg’s Tagged Sentiments which was recently featured in Craft Stamper magazine. I copied the template from the magazine, but you can find it HERE. I then made my own template and squared off the scalloped edges (I’m not great at cutting out, so this was simpler for me!). I cut my tag-holder from a ‘shining stones’ background sheet and used the ‘primitive’ collage stamps to decorate it:

tgif-280208-temp.jpg

I then cut some tags from other background sheets, covered the backs in book papers and edged them with gold embossing powder (personal impressions). I also edged the cover the same way.

tgif-280208-tags.jpg

tgif-280208a.jpg

I added mohair fibres to the tags, for a wild, shaggy look!

tgif-280208.jpg

I then made pockets for the tags, using brightly coloured paper and my sewing machine – I used zigzag stitching around the top edge which can be seen easily and then I stitched the pockets along the seams.

bro-innovis50a.jpg

I used dsst to attach 2 of the pockets to each other, about half way down and stuck one to each side of the cover. That way, they look great when inside the cover, but I can still add more pockets if I want to.

I used leather thong to tie the sides closed and used white hole reinforcers on the inside of the cover to strengthen them. I used my cropadile to make the holes. So although this isn’t strictly Tagged sentiments, it’s inspired by Sarah’s beatiful project!

tgif-280208-end2.jpg

Thanks for looking!

Leave a comment

30 Comments

  1. Wow this is fantastic Rosie, I love the colours. Your tutorial is fab, TFS

    Reply
  2. congratulations on being guest designer.
    ..im off to have a make..coinsidently was working on craft stampers tag book too..love yours x

    Reply
  3. Sandy

     /  March 28, 2008

    Oh my sweet friend Rosie, the Tag is brilliant. So wonderful design.
    Thanks for the wonderful Tutorial. You are great.

    Rosie, thank you so much, for this wonderful work for TGiF.

    Reply
  4. Rosie, your tag and your tutorial are sooooo fantastic, fabulous and magnific – I´m really speechless. Such a brilliant artwork – thanks soooo much for being our guest designer and creating such a wonderful piece of art for TGiF… ;o)

    Reply
  5. Gorgeous work Rosie congrats on your guest designer slot ~ off to check out TGIF now 🙂 xx

    Reply
  6. Congrats on being a guest designer! Did I see *gasp* a sewing machine? LOL I have no clue how to run one of those things. If I need something hemmed or sewed, sadly I ask my mother. LOL

    Thanks for your kind comments on my blog. I would be glad to share my space with you if you could teach me some of your talent! =)

    Reply
  7. nice one!

    Reply
  8. beautiful work!!!

    Reply
  9. Wow.. wunderschöne Farben! Toll

    Reply
  10. GREAT Rosie, thanks for the tutorial!

    Reply
  11. Great work Rosie – thanks for the inspiration

    Reply
  12. Looks really great, love that background.

    Reply
  13. GORGEOUS Rosie!!!

    Reply
  14. Stunning, love this!

    Reply
  15. congrats on being a guest designer Rosie! *claps*

    What a fab project this is! bet you had loads of fun making it 😉

    And I see you’ve been making some fantastic work lately (no change there then) love your lucille card 😉

    Reply
  16. oh.. so beautiful

    Reply
  17. Kaz

     /  March 28, 2008

    really fab work, lots to see there, thanks for showing what you did, I love to see how people create!!

    Reply
  18. Great work Rosie, thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  19. Your Tag and your tutorial are very very nice.

    Reply
  20. beautiful!

    Reply
  21. you’ve done a great job as guest designer. lovely colourful tags, and it was fun to read the tutorial

    Reply
  22. it’s wonderful ! which artwork !

    Reply
  23. Rosie, your Tag looks wonderful, love all the details. 🙂

    Reply
  24. Incredible samples and tutorial!

    Reply
  25. wow, mal ganz was anderes, gefällt mir supergut.

    Reply
  26. bastelkueken

     /  March 29, 2008

    great and fantastic

    Reply
  27. dutchstamptramp

     /  March 30, 2008

    Great thema and absolutely gorgeous tag!

    Reply
  28. What a brilliant idea, where on earth do you get these brainwaves from?

    Reply
  29. What a delightful project. I’ve gotten away from Trishes group due to lack of time on my hands. Ohhhh, you’re making me go back!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

