Wednesday Stamper – Insects

The theme for this week at WS is Insects – we are to create something which shows what we think/feel about them… so I’ve altered a coaster, which was actually destined to go on top of an altered box. It still might…

Spring

Living in the country, I notice the advent of butterflies and bees in the garden and in the fields behind our house. We have honey bees living in our walls, bats up in the eaves and ‘Nature’ all around us. It means Spring is finally here, especially that one annoying fly that I can’t get out of the kitchen!

I adhered a piece of green distressed scraps background to a Guinness coaster and stamped the butterfly and baby dragonfly on it with black soot ink, then the word Spring and clear embossed them. All 3 images are part of the Personal Impressions Garden set from Artymiss; to make the word pop, I stamped over it with black stazon. The sunflowers are another favourite and I took 3 from a little bunch that Cat sent me, wound thin yellow craft wire round the stems and poked the wire through a hole in the centre of the coaster to hold them in place.

I made a hole at the top of the coaster with my cropadile for the bee button and squished it in firmly – the smaller setting was perfect for this. Had it been loose, I’d have used a bit of glossy accents to secure it, but no need!

I managed to get everything that I have for sale listed in my Ebid Store (if you’re curious, see Altered Tart Store in the sidebar), so I altered a few dominoes and stamped a pair with the Zentangle stamp I carved last night while I was(n’t) watching TV! I doodled on the backs of the doms, stamped the fronts and used a drop of diamond glaze to seal them. I have a thing for dominoes at the moment, don’t I? Here’s a pic of the stamp I carved:

Zentangle - the +ve and the -ve

And the doms look like this…

Stamped zentangle

I’m off to Camelford tomorrow – Cornwall, across the border! – to meet Debs (Auntys Forum), as she has been saving a ‘Cornish Guardian’ newspaper which has an interview with my husband in it!!  I just hope that I don’t forget to bring it home in all the excitement of meeting her!! That’ll be DD and I, Thelma & Louise, Road Trip! Someone really should warn other motorists… 😉

Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. Sandy

     /  April 23, 2008

    So many stunning pieces again. Love them all. 😀

    Reply
  2. Its gorgeous, love it.

    Reply
  3. it’s wonderful Rosie ! Lovely really ! and thank you for your explication about ATC !

    Reply
  4. Beautiful art work Rosie!

    Reply
  5. love your coaster, great colors!
    thanks for the explanation!

    Reply
  6. gorgeous.. love them all!

    Reply
  7. Fantastic creativity on the doms and coasters!

    Reply
  8. Great domino’s and the coaster is stunning x

    Reply
  9. this is truly stunning and i love the stamp you carved ! how clever of you !!

    Reply
  10. Love the colors on both of them. These zentangles are really growing on me. You will have to do a tutorial on how to carve stamps one day. Do you draw on the rubber first and then carve or just go for it and things like that.

    Reply
  11. Faye

     /  April 24, 2008

    Wow, what wonderful art! I love your zentangle stamp too.

    Reply
  12. bastelkueken

     /  April 24, 2008

    your card is stunning

    Reply
  13. Adore the dominoes Rosie. Great Zentangle stamp. I must give carving a stamp a go

    Reply
  14. amzazing amazing amazing.
    i LOVE your work.
    And i just keeps getting BETTER AND BETTER!
    LOVE this new stuff and the last couple of days that i have missed out on.
    Truly inpirational!
    Thanks Rosie! 🙂
    xxx

    Reply
  15. absolutely wonderful!

    Reply
  16. Oh wow! I love your coaster Rosie, but I am just drooling over your zentangle stamp!! I LOVE it!!

    Have a great trip….but as for the Thelma and Louise thing, well you might want that analogy to describe the first part of your trip only. Not the last part, please. They did end rather badly….have fun and return safely!

    Reply
  17. katrin

     /  April 24, 2008

    great coaster – fab BG – and beautiful butterfly!!!

    Reply
  18. OMG, I sooooo love that stamp you’ve made – how did you do it (and with what)?

    Reply
  19. Kaz

     /  April 24, 2008

    gorgeous art, that butterfly is fantastic, love that green shade too. just gorgeous, all of it!!

    Reply
  20. Love your insect piece, Rosie. It just captures the exotic feel of the garden and the world of butterflies…lush depth!

    Reply
  21. barnie

     /  April 25, 2008

    Your coaster looks great, I love the green, the flowers and the bee. Also your dominos are fantastic, great colours and doodling.

    Reply
  22. love it!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

