Toys, tags and slides!

I’ve been meaning to play along with the Weekend Taggers for a while, but my ‘other’ projects have consumed quite a lot of my time, but last night – along with my Clive barker/Fatma moment! – I put this rather complex tag together. It combines a slide mount with a vintage card/bookmark about Toys, so it works well for Theme Thursday, which is where the inspiration came from.

Jack-on-strings

The tag is one my friend Jan cut for me, covered with a distressed “SaltRock” (surf shop?) flyer, which I cut down to fit the tag. I discovered that the plastic slidemount, (blue frame, white inner), can be coloured with permanent markers. Because of the way my markers work on plastic, I had faint colouring lines, so I made fat dots on the orange ink and they sort of ‘puddled’, so I got a rather cool rainy/bubble look!!! I love when I have these ‘happy accidents’ – 😉

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Stunning composition and design and love your “puddles” of colour! Just gorgeous, SO glad you found the time to play along this week, hope you manage the new challenge too 🙂

    Reply
  2. beautiful!!!!!

    Reply
  3. Sandy

     /  May 2, 2008

    Oh wow this is fantastic. Amazing tag.

    Reply
  4. That is really cool!!

    Reply
  5. great tag!

    Reply
  6. I love those happy accidents too. This is fantastic. I love the history you added. Your art is so beautiful and I always enjoy visiting your blog.

    Reply
  7. WOW! This is so much fun! I remember those Jack-on-strings toys! The bubble effect really works! It’s great!!

    Today’s workshop was FAB! Kelly Kilmer is an awsome instructor and we had a lot of fun getting paint all over ourselves, and getting very, very inky! Got only 1/4 of the pages done and am exhausted!! Will finish the book sometime next week, then post about it!

    You MUST make a pirate for TGIF!!!!! I’m waiting. . .

    Reply
  8. OMGoodness! I nearly missed this!!! This is just soooo wonderful Rosie!! Is that slide set in a metal frame? It’s glorious, and the whole tag is amazing!! Thank You sooo much for playing with this theme! :o) x

    Reply
  9. carolann

     /  May 4, 2008

    Absolutely stunning work Rosie its lovely

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

