Diva!

Wednesday Stamper’s challenge: “Diva”!! May I present Miss Margaret Ruby – her face adorns the art-doll. Apparently she was an actress in the 1940s…

Miss Margaret Ruby

Her body is made from a yarn cone – heavy-duty cardboard – given to me by Debs; her clothing and arms from a piece of fabric out of the mauve textile pack I bought at the Holsworthy Family Resource Centre; her face from my stash of vintage photo postcards. I handstitched the sequins and beads onto her dress and the legend “Diva” is stamped to her twill sash. (See Ds Ancient Alphabet stamps). I also stamped Tanda feathers to her sleeves, although I haven’t shown you those!

I found creating her rather absorbing, sitting watching/listening to the British Soap Awards, which I’d probably never have had on TV deliberately.  The most challenging bit was finding my needles! I still haven’t found the beading needle I bought a couple of weeks ago, or my needle-book! Oh well, life goes on.

Tomorrow I have to complete scanning papers for my end of year accounts and start building the HFWRC website. Never a dull moment, eh? 🙂

Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. hastingshall2

     /  May 7, 2008

    Your diva is grande!!!

    Reply
  2. Are you sure this is not a person’s head on a cone? It looks very real. Love the embellishments. You make things that I would not have even dreamt of. How do you come up with these ideas Rosie? Hats off to you.

    Reply
  3. She’s fabulous, Rosie!

    Looks a bit like one of the queen’s hats…you didn’t nick it, did you?

    I can relate to the pleasures of hand-stitching sequins and beads! Something really “zen” about it!

    I love her glorious purple!. . . and the sash. . .a bit royal, wouldn’t you say?. . .are you sure you didn’t grab that hat from the palace??

    Reply
  4. Wow rosie this is really great. Love the art doll shes really fun and a great Diva. Hope you are ok. Catch you soon Tracey

    Reply
  5. Wonderful!

    Reply
  6. Sandy

     /  May 8, 2008

    Oh wow what a gorgeous idea. Wonderful diva.

    Reply
  7. This looks great!

    Reply
  8. How beautiful!

    Reply
  9. fabulos!!!

    Reply
  10. it’s beautiful!!! love it!

    Reply
  11. . . .Of course if you told her highess that it was in the interest of art–and she saw your blog and all the beautiful things you do–she would bestow upon you the highest of honors for deeming her hat worthy of your artistic creations!

    Reply
  12. wow, you really stepped out of your comfort zone and tried something new! congratulations! very classy, all the glam and color just fit her perfectly!

    Reply
  13. She’s wonderful!

    Reply
  14. Amazing creation – she is wonderful.

    Reply
  15. She is looking great!

    Reply
  16. carolann

     /  May 9, 2008

    This is fantastic youre so clever

    Reply
  17. Wonderful!

    Reply
  18. wonderful diva ! great imagination ! bravo

    Reply
  19. Fabulous diva!

    Reply
  20. Debs

     /  May 13, 2008

    Wow Rosie!!! I just knew you were the gal to do something with those cones!!!!!
    I love it*@!#

    Reply
  21. Debs… doesn’t she remind you of Hyacinth Bouquet? (aka Bucket?)!!!! 😉

    Reply
  22. Debs

     /  May 14, 2008

    You are so right…. I knew she reminded me of somebody!!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

