Chalky depths!

Lisa has challenged us to create depth without texture this week at Step Outside Your Box Saturday and I have used pastels for this piece. I don’t know if better quality pastels would give me more depth or if I just need to keep practising, but for now I’m quite impressed with the way this turned out. It was enjoyable to do, sitting with half an eye on Dr. Who and Donna Noble, getting filthy fingers while blending chalks… a bit less intense than carving, which requires more care! This is done on smooth white cardstock, which may not have been the ideal choice for using chalks…

I’m also entering this for Saturday’s Workout, whose theme is “Chalk it, baby!” (getting a bit brassy, those two, aren’t they?!) 😉

Baby blue eye...

Next Post
Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Absolut super.
    LG
    Gitti

    Reply
  2. faye

     /  May 17, 2008

    Absolutely gorgeous colors!

    Reply
  3. OK Rosie. I already told you in an email how wonderful I thought this piece was. Now I’ll tell you the truth. . . .it’s even better than I said!! FABULOUS!!

    Reply
  4. giffers

     /  May 17, 2008

    just gorgeous!

    Reply
  5. Sandy

     /  May 18, 2008

    Wow this is really striking Rosie.
    If YOU have any idea what i couldt say more, than “striking”
    please let me know !!!!
    I´m totally speachless and cannot find any word worth your creation.

    Thanks for participating for Saturday´s Workout again.

    Reply
  6. This is one of the most beautiful eyes I have ever seen!

    And I am with Sandy in my speechlessness 😉

    Reply
  7. Wonderful piece, super!

    Reply
  8. This is stunning! I love how you brought light in the eye.

    Reply
  9. p

     /  May 18, 2008

    wow!!!

    Reply
  10. it’s really a beautiful work ! Bravo

    Reply
  11. this is gorgeous, wonderful

    Reply
  12. carolann

     /  May 18, 2008

    Rosie this is stunning WTG

    Reply
  13. Really beautiful!

    Reply
  14. That is fantastic!!

    Reply
  15. Wow I love this Rosie!! What gorgeous colours 😀

    Liz x
    (sbs12)

    Reply
  16. Talk about talent, your drawing is fantastic!!! Great colors & depth. Love it!!!!!

    Reply
  17. Wow! Gorgeous!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

