Viva Espanya, viva la Diva!

Gothic Arches host this week is Filetta (Martine), whose style and quirkiness is always appealing. She’s made a beautiful arch and the theme she chose is Spain! I lived and worked in Spain for nearly 10 years, absorbing much of the traditional Spanish culture and also the Catalan culture, both languages, all the food and the lifestyle. We’ve been back in the UK for 8 years now, but I still have wonderful memories of Fiestas, celebrated in the villages we lived in and we joyfully participated – helping build and decorate floats, singing, dancing and enjoying the atmosphere during those special weeks!

So I have used a photograph to illustrate what Spain means to me… as you can see, both the Spanish and the Catalan flags are flying in the main street, the sun is shining and the road is deserted – the morning after the night before!!! Spain, to me will always be about sun, sand, sea, blood (bullfighting), flowers and food, vivid colours, generations of families under one roof and their love of children, the language and all the flavours of fresh produce. I worked in Tourism, agriculture and taught English from home when DD was a baby. They were hard, but happy times. Would I go back? Never, but that’s another story!!!

So, that explains “Viva Espanya” and this is what “Viva la Diva!” is all about: As you may be aware, I am lucky enough to be a member of the Diva Impressions Artstamps Design Team and there’s a message from Beth (our Diva!)… Follow my link to the store and sign up for the newsletter – there’s a 25% discount on Beth’s marvellous stamps for a while. If you join our Yahoo Group, the same discount applies. What are you waiting for? Go look what I get to design with…. some really unusual stamps. Love that rubber!! 😉


Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Thank you Rosie for the comment to me about your blog ! I’m happy to see that you like my job ! Your arch is splendid, the background so colored is really spanish ! Viva España ! hasta la vista Rosie !

    Reply
  2. it’s beautiful, love the bright colors!!!

    Reply
  3. Whow…this is really beautiful Spanisch card.

    Reply
  4. carolann

     /  June 1, 2008

    Why I wish I was there it looks so summery hun xxx

    Reply
  5. Beautiful, so colorful.

    Reply
  6. Wow! Bright and beautiful colors. The golden embellishment on the top looks like something Indian married women wear in their necklace. Overall very pretty and nice to be able to bring your memories into one piece.

    Reply
  7. wow this is beautiful !!

    Reply
  8. Absolutely beautiful!

    Reply
  9. Love the bright bold colours, Rosie, truly stunning arch!
    JudyNZ

    Reply
  10. For me is seeing your tag breathing the warm air, feeling the sun and a little dust in the air and being slightly tired (from the night before) 🙂
    Really.

    I’m glad that you like my blog and I truly appreciate your hint about where I can find big enough erasers 😉

    Reply
  11. Your arch is truly a fiesta in and of itself! How gorgeous! And so many fabulous details! I love the cross-stitches and the wonderful green ric-rac! . . .and now, if it’s not too terribly personal, you must tell me why you won’t go back. . .

    Reply
  12. AHHH this is soooo BEAUTIFUL!!!
    Me is seeing BEAUTY!!!
    LOOOVE it!

    Reply
  13. This is wonderful! Love your choice of ephemera!

    Reply
  14. Beautiful, warm, bright and colourful … everything I think when I think of Spain.

    Reply
  15. Your arch is hot, hot, hot Rosie, Love the feeling it brings too!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

