“Be a Clown!”

Lovely theme this week for the Gothic Arches… “Clowns”, set by Nancy Maxwell James, who has set a fabulous example with her vintage arch. I went crackers once I got over singing “Send in the clowns”… and remembered the Danny Kaye song (I think it was him) – ‘Be a clown, be a clown, all the world loves a clown…’ I have a ‘cute’ stamp called Clowning Around by Funstamps which I used once (don’t really do cute, do I?!) which was perfect for this so I stamped and coloured him in, cut him and his balls out and then mounted him onto this crazy, wild Circus pink card!

I’ve made the arch very wide, as if it’s in a circus ring and there are tiny footlights at the bottom. I’ve used Cherry Pie marbles and Diva Impressions circus stamps and it’s a sort of funky, bandana-style background bcause I’ve doodled (a lot!). I’m hoping to portray a sense of fun and innocence with this one – maybe you think I have?

Be a clown, be a clown...

I used Anita’s 3D glossy paint to make the dots on the clown’s suit, which was fun! I often forget how dimensional that stuff is… I bet everyone has stuff they forget to play with – what’s yours? *Grins*

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. This is fabulous Rosie – love it , soo different. 🙂 🙂

    Debbie xx

    Reply
  2. Sandy

     /  June 8, 2008

    Oh wow what a marvellous arch.
    Great design. Such funny.

    Reply
  3. Oh so sweet, and what a fabulous background

    Reply
  4. Yes Rosie, I see the fun of being a child and laughing with circus clowns! I love the clown and circles, bright happy colors and tent shape of your arch! It projects happiness!

    Reply
  5. love the playful background but when I read you had cut his balls out!!!Ha Ha great card and description.

    Reply
  6. Fun arch!

    Reply
  7. lovely arch!

    Reply
  8. kreativgeschwafel

     /  June 8, 2008

    that’s really a wonderful arch – love the shape and the doodling in the background – great!

    Reply
  9. Rosie thats a cute arch .Be cute for any child too. Love it!

    Reply
  10. Hi Rosie,
    Love your cute little clown he’s super and expresses a real sense of fun, great arch!

    Reply
  11. Oh, really gorgeous, Rosie and such fun!!!

    Reply
  12. Lovely arch!

    Reply
  13. beautiful arch!!!

    Reply
  14. A fun ATC with a gorgeous background.

    Reply
  15. Now that is sweet! So bright and playful and full of fun.

    Reply
  16. love your take on the theme! fantastic arch – the shape is super!

    Reply
  17. Oh, I love it, Rosie! So gorgeous and pink and glimmery! I looks like a circus party!! I love the footlights!! Very creative and clever of you to think of that!

    Reply
  18. Always fun to read what lead you to a piece…..Love the shape of your arch, it’s just perfect for your plan. Very original and your little clown is not scary 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Reply
  19. Very playful…like a clown should be! I love how you stretched your arch.

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

