ArtyGirlz #38 – Faces

When I saw this fabulous image at Thirdcoast RS, it was (as with the “Eyes“), a case of Love at First Sight! I am a Pagan girl at heart, have my roots in Nature and the seasons, am greatly influenced by the Tides and the Moon, so ‘Oak, Ash, Thorn’ could have been designed for such as me! I made a Suncatcher for my kitchen from a CD and on the shiny side – which will NOT photgraph for me without a kaleidoscopic effect! – I stamped Celtic Symbol images, using black Stazon. I smooshed a mauve and purple background onto glossy cs and brushed on some Rust Perfect Pearls while the inks were still tacky. Then I stamped the beautiful face in black Stazon. I adhered that to the front of the CD over the danglies, with dsst.

The danglies are silvered chipboard discs sandwiched around mauve embroidery thread with a bead attached to the bottoms to add some weight and keep them dangling!

I stamped some plain Celtic circles either side of her, added a few highlights with a white Sakura gel pen and lots of tiny flatbacked crystal gems. So she’s my entry for this week’s Artygirlz “Faces” challenge.

I have been wearing another artling for the last couple of days from my Playing with Clay weekend… it’s a Howling Wolf pendant made from air-dry clay with a Celtic Symbol stamp pressed into it, dried, painted and glazed after rubbing with green and gold metallics.

I made a double loop of bluey green wire, twisted the ends and inserted them, along with a little Diamond Glaze, into the hole I had made before drying the clay disc. I just threaded some veggie cord through the loop and made it adjustable. I love that it’s rough and uneven around the edges – it may not be perfect, but it is unique! 😉

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Sandy

     /  June 10, 2008

    Wow unbelievable pieces of art.
    Love them all. Great work again and again.

    Reply
  2. I love that the wolf pendant is not perfect. Perfection is over-rated!

    Thanks for sharing 🙂

    sbs sister melissa

    Reply
  3. beautiful faces!!!

    Reply
  4. Beautiful

    Reply
  5. kreativgeschwafel

     /  June 10, 2008

    wow, what a great take of the theme!!

    Reply
  6. Oh ! Rosie, it’s really a work of art ! love it !

    Reply
  7. OH WOW! What a fabulous suncatcher! I love that stamp! It’s so beautiful in the picture, I can only imagine how great it is in RL when the sun hits it! And your howling wolf is fabulous! Both pieces have GREAT faces for the ArtyGirlz challenge.

    Have you been busy! I’m out of breath just reading your last couple of posts! All those tote bags, cards, etc! And you still find time for the challenges! You ARE my hero!

    Reply
  8. Clau

     /  June 11, 2008

    Beautiful suncatcher! It’s a great stamp. Also love your pendant.

    Reply
  9. wow Rosie love the sun catcher BEAUTIFUL! and th e pendent is fabulous love the colouring on it.

    Thanks for joining in with the Arty Girlz challenge

    crissi xx

    Reply
  10. Beautiful creations! I wonder if one day our houses will be filled with artsy stuff that we make and can’t part with.

    Reply
  11. ooh really really really love the suncatcher its fab!!

    Your pendant is gorgeous too xx

    Thanks for joining in with Arty Girlz once again 🙂

    Reply
  12. Oh my Gosh, Rosie – your creations are so unique and stunning – would be proud to wear or possess your “not perfect” art work… BRILLIANT !

    Reply
  13. OMG your blog is awesome Rosie, my oh my you are a busy crafter! I am amazed and completely inspired as always with your work!
    xx

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

