Live it up, Sunshine!

Here’s my diamond-fold card for Wednesday Stamper’s challenge this week, inspired by Hermine’s fabulous card which I saw on her blog this morning. She has put a link to a video tutorial explaining how to make this simple, but cute card simply by making a few strategic folds and it’s so simple! So thanks Hermine!

Birdie and Pelican are my handcarved stamps and the sunshine image was cut from the middle of a sheet of freebie papers which came with a crafting mag. The beads are ceramics from my stash. Paper is K&Co. Scrap Pad to go by Brenda Walton which I seem to have had forever! To reinforce it a bit I cut 2 small panels of the olive green cs for the sides so it stands properly. Otherwise, it would’ve been centre-heavy (IYSWIM!).

I also got busy making another Arty-Farty Birdie Bag for my friend Leza’s 40th birthday next week. She took one look at mine last week and told me that’s what she wants for her birthday and picked her own image! It’s not the same, but it’s lined and has soft gold-coloured handles, taken from another bag that DD broke (= wore out!) and the lining has large butterflies in muted tones on it – bought from the Scrapstore. I just have to add a few beads and a bit of embroidery now. Here’s a preview:

I’m thoroughly enjoying making these bags and each one gets a bit easier (thank goodness!). I think the image I used for the transfer is one of Nancy Dooren’s, so thanks Nancy!

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Wonderful diamond-fold card, Rosie!

    Reply
  2. your card looks terrific.

    Reply
  3. I am inspired. I am going hunting for scraps in my house right now to make a bag. Don’t stop me :-))

    Love your diamond fold card too, but I can’t stay too long to praise it. I might loose my inspiration 🙂

    Reply
  4. hastingshall2

     /  June 26, 2008

    I saw that video myself and was so impressed. Your diamond fold card is so gorgeous. It does inspire me to try one myself. I love your sun and all the beautiful colors.
    Faye

    Reply
  5. YES!! You tried the card! I took a peek at that tutorial a few weeks ago and am still planning to give it a go! I love that sun image! And once again, a perfectly artisitc contrast with the more serious stripes and gorgeous hand-carved stamps! Impossible to look at this without smiling!

    Reply
  6. Your card is super Rosie, wonderful colors and your hand carved stamps are “the bomb” (as the kids would say 😉 Really such a special touch! You are going to town with your custom burlap bags, one Lovelier than the next!

    Reply
  7. Your card look so vibrant, I love it. That was fun wasn’t it :o) And I do loev your bag as ways, its looks awesome.

    Reply
  8. cool beans!!

    Reply
  9. Both items are really great!
    Your friend Leza will *love* her bag!
    And the card makes me feel sunshine-ish 😉

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

