Orange and yellow!

That’s this week’s theme at 4×4 Friday. I made 2 freestanding plaques because I was playing with the textured cuttlebug background technique I’ve seen Adrienne, Carol and Annette showing on their blogs. I didn’t have time for the complete process with tissue paper, gesso and paints, so this is the abbreviated version which has worked out rather well (IMHO!):

I cut my 4×4 from scrap card and stuck the Crafty Individuals pic in the centre. I then tore up (shock, horror!) my embossed cardstock to make 2 yellow and 2 orange strips for the frame. I spritzed with Walnut gold glimmer mist (Tattered Angels) and rubbed metallics (red) over the raised areas. Added a MaVinci art quote stamp, 3 little gems and a glass bead flower/star. This one is going to Annette (who won the NGS Art Lottery, lucky thing) as a thanks for being so very kind and sending me all those goodies to play with.

This one was made in much the same way, except I smooshed Frayed Burlap distress ink over the CB raised bits and then spritzed very lightly with the glimmer mist. I used one of my clay embellies (Stonehenge) and stamped the word Monuments on the diary scrap with those tiny Studio G alphabet stamps. Neat, aren’t they?!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. beautiful again Rosie!!!

    Reply
  2. Sandy

     /  June 27, 2008

    Wow they are really unique.
    Wonderful 4 x 4 creations. Love them.
    Wunderschön, wie immer 😀

    Reply
  3. kreativgeschwafel

     /  June 27, 2008

    They’re both really wonderful!!

    Reply
  4. hastingshall2

     /  June 27, 2008

    Wonderful, Rosie. I love the vibrancy of your cards. Your explanation of how you did this is very clear to follow. It sounds like it was really a lot of steps. It is beautiful and the lucky recipient will certainly be thrilled.

    Reply
  5. Beautiful!! Your colors always turn out perfectly!! I love the texture you’ve achieved in these two pieces! Both are beauties!! I can’t wait to do a yellow and orange 4X4!

    I’m late with all the challenges…got started on a couple and couldn’t stand the state of the workroom another second, so I spent the day sprucing things up. Now it will be nice to get a fresh start in the morning.

    Reply
  6. Faye – if you look at the others’ blogs, there are a few more parts to the process!

    Barbara – That may happen to me next week… my workspace keeps decreasing in size – not good!

    Reply
  7. Absolutely stunning

    Reply
  8. carolann

     /  June 28, 2008

    Rosie these are absolutely fab the colours are so vibrant they are great hun well done xxx

    Reply
  9. What absolutely fascinating backgrounds you’ve created for these two pieces. Beautiful combination of elements in each too!

    Reply
  10. Rosie wondeful work .Love this 4×4 of yours thank you for sharing it with us!

    Reply
  11. These are wonderful Rosie! Love the colours 🙂

    Liz x

    Reply
  12. Love how you jumped right in and did what worked for you! they look fabulous, I love bright colors. The details of the embellishments are fantastic. Love it!!!

    Reply
  13. lovely xx

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

