This Thursday…

… it’s all about “opposites attract“! Basically, that means light/dark, black/white, positives and negatives… hot/cold – to me, anyway! So my take on this week’s challenge is using one image and contrasting it for this card. There’s a fab prize up for grabs too – a sheet of Cherry Pie Artstamps!

Stamp: Anita’s – this is a biggun’ (about 4″x4″). I stamped it once in black on white cs and again with versamark on black cs and used white vanilla-scented ep on it. I usually dislike the smell of vanilla (candles, etc.) because it overpowers me and gives me migraines – one reason for never having used this stuff! Having said that, it was quite pleasant and didn’t make me feel nauseous at all… and very handy as my white ink (Ink it up!) is rubbish.

I then cut the images in half and mounted them on to silver mirri card, embossed with the script folder by Cuttlebug. Added black and white ribbon and some black and white embroidery thread tied round the card. I think it’s quite elegant! See the DT’s examples and other entries HERE.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. susiebwell

     /  July 11, 2008

    Stunning card Rosie!
    thanks for joining in again!xx

    Reply
  2. Very elegant indeed! It’s beautiful, Rosie! And this is just uncanny…I can’t tolerate vanilla scented candles, lotions, etc., either! Most other scents are OK, but not vanilla! Also, I was in the middle of a card with a similar idea to yours when I took a break to peek at your blog….stand by and I’ll post that one to my blog, also. And last but not least, here in the desert, very unexpectedly and just hours after hearing about your floods, we had the storm of storms and I spent last evening bailing buckets of water from my back patio……..parallel lives????

    Reply
  3. Susi – thanks!

    Barbara – I wonder what would happen if we met up for real???? “When worlds collide… or something similar!” How spooky!

    Reply
  4. Wow……. das ist ja wunderschön!!!!!!!

    Reply
  5. Great card roseie. Love the embossed hohlographic. Great threads too. Thanks for taking part in our challenge

    Reply
  6. Great card Rosie – spooky too as I was just reading about scenting cards the other day and thought how would I do that? Vanilla is not my favourite especially in those Yankee Candles, give me a headache, but I do love putting a vanilla stick in my caster sugar – natural vanilla doesn’t smell anywhere near as bad as the synthetic stuff. Thanks for joining in with the challenge – good luck with the stamps – great prize eh?

    Reply
  7. beautiful card Rosie!!!

    Reply
  8. craftytrog

     /  July 12, 2008

    Gorgeous card Rosie!!
    http://craftytrog.wordpress.com/

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

