No patterned paper…

When Crissi and Julie announced that as their challenge, I bet a lot crafters went ‘gulp’, but to a background junkie, it’s just another ‘day in the life’… so for my mates, the uber-talented Artygirlz, I sat and played with all sorts of scraps, trying to clear my desk this evening, and Mr. Mayall (aka Ernest) became the subject of a postcard! He’s one of my Victorian characters, who by sheer virtue of his strength of character, may well end up winning the very fair ‘Sophie’.

The postcard is covered with a paint-sploshed sheet of kitchen roll left over from making backgrounds and being very messy with blue watercolour and oil paints. The grid to the left is soft rubber – the kind of stuff they stand glasses on to dry in bars. It inks up quite well, doesn’t it? The text is from my history of bicycles book, just leftovers coloured with watercolour pencil wash and torn.

The frame around Ernest is from TLC, sanded and inked and the base paper onto which I stamped him, is a ‘revision card’ which I bought this afternoon whilst out shopping in Morrison’s. They don’t have a lot in their Back to School range in Bude, but I picked up some fineliners and a roll of adhesive clear film and some nifty storage boxes too! There was what they call a Tuff Box with 5 paper boxes in it (like a magazine folder thingy). The best bit is that they are all opaque, so I put my A4 cardstock in them, separated by colours and they now stand upright above the worktable, saving a little space. The tubs I bought (3), were 39p each and about 5″x5″x3″. I filled one with tiny 1″ inkpads and perfect pearls pots and another took all my smaller mountboard offcuts. I also managed to reorganise my brads, find my remaining dominoes and hung my brightly-coloured bookrings on a clothes peg, clipped to one of the boxes at the back of my table.

While I was upstairs, I cut out Pat’s friend’s bag, lining and attached the pocket ready for sewing tomorrow, sorted and folded all my fabric into the wicker box and DD helped me tidy the cupboard under the stairs. It’s been one of those ‘blitzing’ days – FlyLady would be so proud… I have tackled no less than 3 hotspots today! Yay!! 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. love it, love it…the colors are super….great collage !!

    Reply
  2. Sandy

     /  August 15, 2008

    Wow incredible card. Love the details.
    Wunderschön, wie immer 😀

    Reply
  3. crissi

     /  August 15, 2008

    aw i like hm rosie fab background love all the elements.

    Thanks for joining in with the Arty Girlz challenge
    crissi xx

    Reply
  4. WOW Rosie your background is amazing!!!

    Fantastic creation (as always)

    Thanks for joining in with this weeks Arty Girlz challenge

    Julie xx

    Reply
  5. patsand31

     /  August 16, 2008

    Way to go Rosie, looking forward to your fab creation. I like that rubber stuff on your postcard, you find as many ways to use it as I do.But my one’s are not so pretty or arty. Just boring pracitical. lol.

    Reply
  6. gorgeous creation Rosie – love all the different elements and love this collage look
    Kath
    xxxxx

    Reply
  7. Rosie – I love this – brilliant stamping!

    Reply
  8. carolann

     /  August 16, 2008

    Brilliant work hun absolutely love it xxxx

    Reply
  9. I love the beautiful blues in your background, Rosie! So very clever of you to use the rubber sheet to ink up and add to the piece! It looks like very soft sequin waste. I think Ernest and Sophie would make a great couple! You’ll have to keep me updated on thier courtship! XOXO

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

