Altered Bags

Today I played around with fabric I have been given by my friend Pat (The Vinegar Lady!) She had some lovely black chenille with bold gold panels on it that I felt sure would make a decent tote, much in the style of a ‘carpet-bag’. I must be in Victorian mode or something… So I used one of DD’s old book bags as a lining and made an outer for it, using the chenille.

I had a few problems with it – the ‘sliver’ purple thread I wanted to use to stitch round the image with kept breaking and I got quite frustrated, so before I ruined the panel I was stitching on, I changed to ordinary purple thread.  Stitching the chenille outer was a bit of an endurance test – it frays like there’s no tomorrow, so I had to stitch, press and then overcast (make the seam as fray-proof as possible). It was worth it though. Here’s the front panel:

I really like how it came out in the end and shall be quite happy to take that shopping with me!! At least the camouflage lining will hide any fruit and veggie stains! So another recycled project under my belt! As the Mixed Media Monday challenge is ‘Reuse/Repurpose’ today, I’m going to enter my bag. Here’s a pic of it hanging on the kitchen door.

The stamps are Cherry Pie (pixie); Art quotes by Robin – MaVinci’s reliquary and I can never remember the diamond one – sorry! – but doesn’t it go well with the diamond panels in the black and gold chenille?! The subconscious must’ve been at work there… 🙂

I shall make a ‘Birdie’ tag for it tomorrow!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. Gorgeous bag, love it.

    Reply
  2. B

     /  August 25, 2008

    Your design is beautiful, and I do love the bag.

    Reply
  3. What a wonderful bag Rosie, love it!

    Reply
  4. Love your bag, it is so beautiful, great idea.

    Reply
  5. Kathy

     /  August 25, 2008

    WOW, this is something! Great job on this.

    Reply
  6. awesome bag>>>Rosie.. the talented seamstress!!!

    Reply
  7. This is totally amazing! That MaVinci stamp must be one of my all time favourites, the whole piece is awinspiring!

    Reply
  8. wow.. this is beautiful !!!

    Reply
  9. Gorgeous bag!! Stitching on chenille can be quite challenging – looks like you did a wonderful job!

    Reply
  10. mixedmediamonday

     /  August 26, 2008

    Rosie, this is a gorgeous bag! Diane

    Reply
  11. one of the best entry for this week’s mmm them recycled art. it came out a very beautiful bag!

    Reply
  12. This is just beautiful. I haven’t sewed chenille but this looks like you spent a lot of time!

    Reply
  13. This is a great idea and a wonderful way to recycle/repurpose!

    Reply
  14. Wonderful! Beautifully created.

    Reply
  15. Gorgeous bag!!

    Reply
  16. patsand31

     /  August 26, 2008

    Nice use of a diffcult material Rosie lol.
    Love Pat xxx

    Reply
  17. carolann

     /  August 26, 2008

    This is absolutely brilliant Rosie you are so clever (clapping)xxxx

    Reply
  18. The bag is fabulous, but your piece of artwork in the center is really amazing and gorgeous! I love the contrast of the pure, light background of your collage with the gorgeous, classically beautiful images, and the dark chenille! Another “WOW” piece, Rosie!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

