Monochromatic…

Okay, all one colour for Tag, You’re It! I usually do something black and white for this sort of theme, but today I challenged myself to use shades of brown. Given my recent obsession with Halloween, I nearly used orange, but I have to draw the line somewhere!! Besides, I picked up the pic of the DaVinci lady from my desk and decided to use that as the main feature. I did a gel transfer onto an offcut of card. I love doing these – it’s all practice till I get it right.

The tag is a diecut from my mate Jan (Ta!!) and the background is watercolour pencils, strips of embossed adhesive border, cut to size diagonally, the pointing finger from Home Impressions and various fibres and leather plaited up. A real mixed (bag of) media!

The “art” word stamps are by Robin at MaVinci’s Reliquary – great, aren’t they? I suppose I have cheated a bit by writing the quote (author unknown), in black and then tinting the card brown, but maybe Anne & Sam’ll let me off?!

I would like to add that all the elements I used are on/from my desk – you can imagine what it looks like, can’t you? ROTFL!!!! 🙂

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Holy smokes you have been busy! WTG! I did some altered dominoes today and posted them on my blog – Thanks for the inspiration Rosie!

    Reply
  2. Lol, wish I could use up the elements that are on my desk rather than just get more out to make the next thing!! I LOVE your grungy style and the way you collage is SO inspirational too! Oh and how you always find the perfect quote 😀

    Thanks so much for taking up the challenge and producing something so fabulous!!

    Reply
  3. Very nice Tag!!. Ilike this.

    Leila

    Reply
  4. Aw, now you see this is what I set out to do and ended up with something completely different – and pink!!! I love this Rosie!! I love your collage and your stamps, but that sentiment is just gorgeous! Fabulous tag – as always! Thank You so much for playing once more! ;o) xx

    Reply
  5. Wow Rosie this is so beautiful and such a great quote –

    Reply
  6. Great tag 🙂

    Reply
  7. Love your tag Rosie…and the words …brill artwork x

    I laughed about your desk …I am in the middle of a major stash sort out so I know where you’re coming from ! Lol

    Reply
  8. Ann

     /  September 13, 2008

    Love your tag! Love the vintage-y look to it.

    Reply
  9. Gorgeous color/texture! And I love the hand stamp!! But what really caught my eye here, were your very true words! A lovely tag, Rosie! You have a perfect way of combining fun and beauty!

    Reply
  10. carolann

     /  September 14, 2008

    Fantastic tag hun WTG xxxx

    Reply
  11. gorgeous tag Rosie and love the sentiment
    Love
    kath
    xxxxx

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

