Autumn Leaves

I spent an enjoyable hour on another Journal page this afternoon. I was making a page about ‘Autumn’ for Artygirlz and I had popped over to Bmuse.com, looking for instructions about the ATC Background Cropper Adrienne sent me! Whilst there, I had a browse through the Collage Techniques section and became totally inspired by the leaf prints. It was one of those lightbulb moments where I knew I had to gather my ice cream tub of paints, a fat brush and a couple of Stewart Gill pots – quickly – before “they” wanted their tea and the light went! (I too am family- and food-driven!!)

Here’s the Autumn page, which I may ‘journal’ in the future and I’ll show you how it came about below. The buff paint has such a lovely shimmer which I don’t think shows up too well in the photo…

And here’s how I work – don’t laugh at the mess… it’s quite good for me – all on the Messy Mat too! *grins*

I painted the double spread with the shimmery buff SG paint and as it dried, I painted over an orange glaze to add depth (and because these 2 work so beautifully together!). Then I started with a clematis leaf and painted it orange on the veiny side. I got very messy when I pressed it onto the pages, so I got a paper towel and used that to ‘stamp’ my leaves from then on – see the paper towel with lovely bits of paint and leafy print on it?

Using red, brown and gold, I did the same with different shaped leaves from the garden and then I used them over the text pages I tore from a paperback that I keep in the kitchen for just this purpose. I do believe I am becoming more organised! I used the Liquitex gel medium to thin out the acrylics a bit and to make them a bit more opaque. It’s brilliant for sticking too!

The next step was to wait (impatiently) for the paints to dry so I could try stamping a couple of dragonflies on them too (thinking, ‘Created by Hand’, “Dragonflies” challenge this week!!), but DH fell in love with these pages and asked me not to go mad with the stamping! Men!

I did the next best thing. I limited my dragonflies to one large and 2 small in the Journal and then made this ATC from one of the text pages…

Now that’s a pretty one, isn’t it? And I still have a page and a half of leaf-printed text to use… 😉

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. WOW This is excellent, so much work you have put into it. best of luck in the challenge

    Sarah x

    Reply
  2. Beautiful work Rosie and your step by step is fab!

    Reply
  3. WOW!!!!!!!! Absolutely fabulous work Rosie !!!!

    Thanks for joining in with Arty Girlz once again xxx

    Reply
  4. gorgeous

    Reply
  5. Great idea. Fabulous art.

    Reply
  6. beautiful! thanks for showing the technique – awesome!

    Reply
  7. Sandy

     /  September 24, 2008

    Wow Rosie this is a great idea with the background.
    Looks fabulous. Herrlich, wie immer 😀

    Reply
  8. FABULOUS piece!! Thanks for explaining how you achieved it. Sounds like you had SUCH fun!!

    Reply
  9. Beautiful! Thank you so much…funny I didn’t have a clue what to do in my journal this week…now I do! Thanks!

    Reply
  10. The pages are gorgeous Rosie lovely colours.

    Thanks for joining in with the Arty Girlz challenge.

    crissi

    Reply
  11. These are beautiful, Rosie! I have never been terribly fond of autumn colors, but your oranges, reds and browns are vibrant, not muddy like a lot that I see, and I LOVE them!! This will probably be hard for you to believe, but I have never seen a proper autumn! Our leaves turn, but usually not until December or January, and by that time, they’ve mostly fallen off, or frozen! So I love looking at really good autumn pages, probably because they’re so foreign to me that I’m really not comfortable with them as subject matter for myself! Yours are amazing!! I love the creamy orange background and the placement and colors of the leaves! Very lovely!! They are both abstract and realistic at the same time!

    Reply
  12. Beautiful, the colours are gorgeous.The technique is wonderful.Thank You for sharing..

    Reply
  13. hastingshall2

     /  September 24, 2008

    Rosie, how wonderful and vivid your colors are! Yesterday I used leaves to stamp ink onto card stock at the craft club I lead for the nursing home. The residents were fascinated by the use of real leaves for stamps. The viburnum leaf worked best for us with its leathery feel. Your text pages are enormously beautiful and make a perfect place for the dragonflies to fly.
    Faye

    Reply
  14. jami

     /  September 24, 2008

    Beautiful work. I love the leaves.

    Reply
  15. fabulous creation Rosie – truly a work of art…and hey I was gutted I didn’t get the prize either….oh well
    Hugs
    kath
    xxxxx

    Reply
  16. Just Fabulous!
    Sandra Evertson

    Reply
  17. beautiful job with the leaves! Great work comes from a great mess:)

    Reply
  18. carolann

     /  September 26, 2008

    Great technique Rosie awesome work xxxxx

    Reply
  19. Nice handiwork. I love the colours and leaves.
    The drangonflies makes it perfect.

    Reply
  20. Rosie, I’m amazed!
    I knew about leaf printing, and yours is the most beautiful I’ve ever seen.
    I also love your use of the orange glaze, it adds so much to your piece of art.

    You must have loved the messy part ;-))

    Once I found a blog post on using the paper towels, perhaps you’d like to try this, too.

    Reply
  21. Dont laugh at the mess? have you seen the “SIX INCH SQUARE” club on flickr: http://www.flickr.com/groups/sixinchsquareclub/ you have nothing to be ashamed of!

    John

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

