By the numbers…

I have come to the conclusion tonight that I always do everything the hard way!! Before I explain, I have to say a big thankyou to the girls at Craftaway a Sunday – I received my wonderful array of goodies in this morning’s post and have been ooohing and aahhhing an awful lot! Thank you so much, Kaz!! I have already used a couple of the items in my creations today and I look forward to stroking using the rest too!

I’m a big fan of Frieda Oxenham – Quilting Artist. She makes the most wonderful creations and combines quilting, paper, stamping, etc. beautifully. She inspired me to ‘play’ with fabric a long time ago (it seems a long time…) and the Arty-Farty Birdie Bags were born. I have had a hankering to make a “Quiltie”, I think they’re called, for a while now, so today was the day. I’m not a very disciplined person when I work, but I planned this quite well – got the images and fabric sorted, cut out and stamped. The wadding and backing was duly pinned and away the sewing machine and I went. Things were going really well, till I remembered that Frieda couches her Gothic Arches’ edges. So, I grab the manual, check out the technical side of things – change the presser foot and attempt this stitch, having programmed the Brother accordingly.

I should’ve read a manual or watched a DVD first! What a job to keep the fabric in line and the couching even… ah well, it’s not too bad for a first attempt, winging it as usual! So here’s my ‘Numbers’ entry for Theme Thursday this week. What a challenge!

New York collage stamp – Montage stamps – thanks Patti! Party crows – Diva Impressions; 5/2 stamps from MaVinci’s Reliquary. The crow is a fabric transfer, done with water thanks to Annette, who has another fab video tutorial on her blog for fabric paper enthusiasts!

Before I got stuck into the quiltie, I was working on a round tuit (This Thursday, it’s all about), and have all but finished the shrine I started for Ria (Home Impressions) a couple of months ago! Thanks for the nudge girls!! And I was asked by my friend Jane to make her a textural ATC for a swap which we have done. She sent me a super map/puzzle piece one from her blog! It’s going in the post this weekend Jane!!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. great quiltie! love it!

    Reply
  2. Dear Rosie ~ I am quite breathless just catching up with your creative gypsy Rosie Lee self!!! And you temptress you, teasing me with your comment on my blog…..I’ll be camped out for the post lady for certain 🙂

    Your quiltie arch is fantastic, Love how you used the leaf trim!!! AND your birdie fabric transfer = ooh la laa = Love that! It is just all around wonderful as is your leaf printing. You are a hoot! Now it’s raining and I’ll have to wait until things dry out before I can have a go at leaf printing. Thank you for being your always inspiring and energetic self….still trying to catch my breath catching up with you ooxoxo

    Reply
  3. It’s fabulous – must have taken you forever to make, I love it!!

    Reply
  4. Whew, my head is spinning with news of all of your projects. You go girl! I really love your work with fabric. It really is a whole new and interesting experience isn’t it? I find it very satisfying from a touch point of view. I’ve always loved the feel of fabric, lace etc. What a delight when people like Frieda and you remind us that we can stamp on fabric and even (gasp) glue instead of sew. Wonderful piece my friend, beautifully composed! Onward to the quiltie!

    Reply
  5. I have been following your blog for a while, Rosie, and I think this is the most wonderful thing I’ve seen on it yet. I adore this.

    I am just starting to explore the whole fabric / quiltie thing and have a way to go before I can make anything like this 🙂

    plus, I don’t have the foggiest idea what couching is, but whatever it is, you did it well 🙂

    Reply
  6. Lennie

     /  September 26, 2008

    Hi There Rosie, Haven’t visited your blog for a while and was glad I did tonight. Just love the “Home Sweet Home” and must ask does the number 52 mean something in particular? Also love the crow, they are such comical birds, at least ours are too funny. So I always love seeing them in artwork and such. Take care, thinking of you.

    Reply
  7. Sandy

     /  September 26, 2008

    Oh wow an fabric house.
    Rosie amazing idea and fantastic work. Love them.

    Reply
  8. that’s really a fab house – especially for me because I really can’t sew 😦 … absolutely perfect!!!

    Reply
  9. Man you have been soooooo busy! I LOOOVE that fabric house!!
    TOTALLY COOL!
    xo

    Reply
  10. What a fun idea! and I love the row of birds on the bottom

    Reply
  11. hastingshall2

     /  September 26, 2008

    Wow, Rosie, I am totally impressed. This is an amazing piece of fabric art. I envy you your wonderful sewing machine. I’m not much of a sewing person and am still using my 1958 era Singer slant needle, attachments not attached.

    Reply
  12. wonderful, a lot of worthwhile work involved thanks for sharing
    chriss x

    Reply
  13. carolann

     /  September 26, 2008

    Wow Rosie this is stunning the one thing I cannot do now is stitch at all ove the colours you have used WTG xxx

    Reply
  14. Fabulous, Rosie! Great work!

    Reply
  15. Fantastic piece done with material. Just wonderful.

    Reply
  16. This is the first quiltie I have ever seen Rosie and I love it!

    Reply
  17. absolutely AWESOME!

    Reply
  18. WOW your first time???????? this is fantastic, absolutely love it Rosie. can’t wait to see what you make with the goodies, lol @ stroking them.
    Glad you got them ok.
    Kaz xoxo

    Reply
  19. I love your quiltie, it`s so sweet!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

