Altered File Box

Rosie & Linda’s Awfully Big Art Adventure challenge last Friday was to alter a file box. I had the perfect box in mind and finally gave myself a break yesterday – I sat measuring the box carefully and chose my papers to cover it. I cut the panels to size and stamped the ones I wanted that way; I took the whole thing downstairs with a black fineliner and a white gel pen and some dsst.

I spent a pleasant couple of hours doodling away on the large front panel of the Brenda Walton K&Co. papers and then assembled the panels to cover the box. I could’ve gone mad embellishing, but I have kept this box fairly flat because it’ll be used to house swaps and small items before they are put away properly! Thanks for this (very useful!) challenge, Rosie & Linda… I now have a pretty box to house small items.

abaa-filebox-front

abaa-filebox-front2

abaa-filebox-front3

I wrote on most of the circles myself!!

abaa-filebox-spine

A few of my favourite images!! I’m so pleased with how this turned out… The bottle cap image is from Digital Collage Sheets – love their high quality images and I use them a lot!!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Rosie ABAA

     /  November 6, 2008

    This is just gorgeous! Love the colours and particularly the doodling! Well done and thanks for joining in our challenge.
    Love
    Rosie

    Reply
  2. Thank you for joining in Rosie – your box file is a beauty! There’s such a lot there to inspire us, especially all your lovely doodling.
    Love Linda

    Reply
  3. Wow this is super, I love the way you have drawn the doodling over the top of the paper, its really made the whole thing stand out.
    Its a lovely colour paper , very nice indeed. Well Done and thanks for sharing, JAQI

    Reply
  4. love doodles and all those stamp sentiments too looks like you had soo much fun with it.
    chriss x

    Reply
  5. Ooh, how lively! I’ve got a bunch of boxes, tins, canisters, etc. that I’ve accumulated but haven’t gotten around to yet.

    Thanks for the feedback! And, by the way, I LOVE insects and the like (rubber ones, that is) for use in artwork. I’ve got a basket full of spiders, snakes, and lizards! I wonder…can you use a hot glue gun for what you’re trying to do? I need to get a hold of some E6000 jewelry glue. It’s supposed to be the best for these things.

    Reply
  6. I’m glad you found something that worked. You could try hot glue sometime, I don’t think it would harm them. I use it on delicate dried flowers seed pods and it doesn’t burn through them. But I think molding paste is pretty darn good for lots of things, porous and non-porous.

    I wish you waves of good luck tomorrow! May your crafty work be like a powerful magnet, attracting many delighted customers! And may the craft fair be a magnificent success for you in every way, with lots and lots of sales from many happy customers and lots of new fans and followers of your work!

    xoxo
    Serena

    Reply
  7. It’s me again. I just had to come and let you know that you’ve been tagged. I got tagged by Julee Herrmann at HeArt Collective on this a couple of weeks ago and finally got around to it today. I realize you’re busy right now, but when you get a chance – no hurry at all (and if you’re not into it, don’t even bother with it). I just had to choose 6 other bloggers to pass it on to and I chose you as one of ’em.

    Have a WONDERFUL weekend!

    Reply
  8. It’s looking great! beautiful colours!

    Reply
  9. I love the box, Rosie!! You seem to be moving toward the pastels, at least in the last couple of pieces, and you work wonderfully with them! Your altered file box is delightful!! Gives me a smile to look at it…and your birdie seems very happliy at home on it, too!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

