Wednesday Stamper – telephone

A bit tricky, this week’s WS challenge! I have no images of telephones, or stamps that include one. I don’t tend to hold onto magazines, as they normally get recycled – in the recycling bin or taken to the Doctor’s surgery ( not often thank goodness!). Then I remembered the box of used postage stamps I have (well, I was sorting through my stash to make up an art pack for a 4 year old little girl who’s very ill and needs a distraction…) and luckily enough, I found a centenary stamp of the 1st telephone call by Alexander Graham Bell!

Here’s the ATC which resulted from the find:

ws-phoneatc

The background is a Paperartsy Mini stamp, stamped with black soot distress ink and embossed with a horrible red EP!! However, that does tone quite well with red/pink on the postage stamp, so I just matted that and the stamp and stuck them to a plain ATC. The dots are stickles platinum which I used to stick on the flower gems. Nothing special, but another ATC to trade!

I’ve booked a table at another local Christmas Fayre on November 29th at Grimscott! The lady who organises it is an art teacher who loves mixed media, so I’m happy enough to have one supporter there already! She bought a pair of altered mini domino earrings from me at the last outing and has asked me to make more to bring with me… so you can guess what I’ll be making soon, can’t you?!

I feel another light n shade-style textured canvas coming on, too! 😉

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. What a lucky find! This came out great.

    Reply
  2. Sandy

     /  November 13, 2008

    Wow this is fantastic.
    Great piece of art.

    Reply
  3. its gorgeous, love the postal stamp. Great background.

    Reply
  4. it’s beautiful!! love thew background and the postal stamp is just great!!

    Reply
  5. Beautiful ATC!

    Reply
  6. The background colours work perfectly – love your ATC..

    Reply
  7. aren’t you so clever! great card.

    Reply
  8. Hey Rosie great find in your stash….your atc is great. 🙂

    Good luck with the fayre and better had start a production line for those domino ear rings..:) 🙂

    xxDebbiexx

    Reply
  9. Brilliant.Great background and image.

    Reply
  10. hastingshall2

     /  November 16, 2008

    Hi Rosie, I like your ATC and its colors. I miss seeing you on the challenges that I’m in. Are you in some of the others? We used to bump into each other off and on. Sounds like you may be busy with the craft fair.
    faye

    Reply
  11. Hi Rosie – never give up must be your new motto. Good luck with the fayre – I hope you do well ….

    Reply
  12. I love it, Rosie! What a great stamp! I’m kicking myself for throwing away envelopes with beautiful cancelled stamps over the years! What wonderful things we could be doing with all those *antiques* (giggles).

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

