A Festive Mousemat!

I very much like simple shapes and the Created by Hand challenge this week struck a chord with me today when I saw the triangular Christmas trees we are asked to use in our artwork. I designed and made a lot of cards last year and quite a few of them used simple triangles for trees, so this was great fun.

I also like the fact that Julie & Crissi (Artygirlz), asked for a piece of work using our favourite medium… and I am pretty passionate about stitching/textiles (otherwise known as Cloth, Paper, Scissors!!). I have some foam pads which are sticky on one side (recycled waste from the Scrapstore) and I hit on the concept of making my own festive mousemat this evening.

I used fabric-like paper with silver spots on, some free Crafty Individuals papers from a magazine for the trees, a holly stamp from Home Impressions Christmas Plate and the Happy Holidays stamp gifted to me with a collage stamp I bought from Grandma Patti in the USA – Ebay. I held the shapes in place with a dab of glue and stitched them in place with metallic green thread (had a few tension issues at first…), but I really like it!

mousemat

I couldn’t make it more dimensional, or it’d be useless as a mousemat, so it’s a flatwork!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. So creative and beautiful, Rosie. The colors are just gorgeous.

    Reply
  2. beautiful!

    Reply
  3. Rosie, such stunning artwork – really fantastic!

    Reply
  4. I LOVE the colors against the silvery fabric! This is GORGEOUS, Rosie! Lately you’ve been using a lot very wonderful colors! I love your more subdued colors also, but these are so eye-catching and fun! It makes me happy just to look at this! Did you edge it with silver Krylon pen? However you did this, it is fabulous!

    Reply
  5. crissi

     /  December 10, 2008

    beautiful work Rosie i love the idea and it looks dead cool

    Thanks for joining in with the Arty Girlz challenge.

    crissi xx

    Reply
  6. This is great, fery creative. Love the colours and papers you used.

    Reply
  7. This is brilliant as always Rosie

    Thanks for joining in with this weeks Arty Girlz challenge and sharing one of your favourite crafting mediums

    Julie xx

    Reply
  8. Beautiful work Rosie..

    Reply
  1. Hot Ebay Store » Blog Archive » A Festive Mousemat! «

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

