A-muse-d…

I was browsing the December Monthly Muse last week, (pre-flu!) and had already decided I wanted to make a flower pin after seeing Lisa Vollrath’s example. I have scraps of felt in my stash and don’t often get them out and this is an ideal way to use them up. I also need a stable pincushion, so expect to see one of those tomorrow or soon… !!

felt-flower-pin

Isn’t that pretty? The hardest part was cutting the petals out and finding the right button for the centre! I also had no green felt, so remember those bunches of ugly silk flowers I bought and took apart to use in artwork? Well, I also kept the bases and quite a few leaves, so that’s what I substituted.

If you’d like to make one of these as a gift for someone or yourself, you can find it all in The Monthly Muse – subscribe at Ten Two Studios. As this is also a  piece of recycled art, I shall enter it into the Artygirlz ongoing Recycling Challenge. There are loads of projects and printables in the MM with step-by-step instructions, that I am dying to make, including that pretty tin can pincushion! Thing is, if you haven’t got the exact materials, the inspiration is there and you can either improvise or buy what you need from Lisa’s store!! Cool, huh?!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Your flower is lovely and I really like the green leaves a lot too! It reminds me of a Magnolia blossom…
    Wishing you and yours a Very Happy New Year Rosie!
    Here’s to more fun and sharing in 2009! oxo

    Reply
  2. Pretty! I love seeing my instructions put to good use.

    Reply
  3. Sandy

     /  January 1, 2009

    Oh wow this flower is very incredible.
    Wonderful work.

    Rosie my friend, I wish you a Happy New Year.
    May all your wishes come true.

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

