Something new!

Theme Thursday – use something new in our artwork this week for the challenge. Well, I got some new stamps from my friend Leza for Christmas (plus a fab book on metalcraft…). These are clear polymer stamps from Avec in the Netherlands and they’re Asian in theme. They look like henna tattoos in design and I love them. I used what I think of as the ‘hand of Fatma’ for this card and a pretty border from the same set for my Thank you card. As I used a lolly stick to apply the tacky glue to the discs holding the flowers, I remembered Lisa Vollrath’s ‘Spirit sticks’ from one of the Monthly Muses and decided not to throw it away, but alter it to match the card!

card-stick

So now my friend will receive a card and a bookmark or plant stick to go with it! It’s a shame the shimmer on the border doesn’t show up because I stamped with Perfect medium and black stazon and then brushed on Perfect Pearls in plum – it’s so pretty when the light catches it!

Here’s a little fantasy fairy pin  made by altering 2 chipboard letter discs and adding wings, a tail, a face and a pinback! We have an altered art theme + fantasy as this month’s Teams challenge on Auntys Forum. I also made a fairy wand box from a matchbox, but I can’t get a decent pic of it so that will have to wait till tomorrow.

fantasy-pin

The face is from Digital Collage and the wings are from Lisa’s Altered Art. The chipboard discs are from my forum buddy Sian – look what I made hunni!!!

Happy New Year everyone – let’s hope it’s a healthy and creative 2009. xoxoxo

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. hastingshall2

     /  January 1, 2009

    Rosie, I love your card with the very interesting hand stamps. The card is really lovely and I can see the pink at the bottom but not the shimmer. Your pin is beautiful too. Happy crafting in 2009!
    Faye

    Reply
  2. I don’t know what you’re worried about Rosie! And the spirit stick – a lolly stick? That’s altered art too….. being a wand type affair, it’s fantasy…. Fabulous work as always!

    Reply
  3. Fantastic Rosie I absolutely love the altered pin!!

    Happy new year xxx

    Reply
  4. beautiful creations!

    Reply
  5. love our bookmark and fairy..happy new year

    Reply
  6. shellyhickox

     /  January 1, 2009

    Wow, you’ve been busy! I love it all – the lolly stick is inspired! I have a whole sack of those…..now I know what to do with them. Thanks so much for sharing and have a wonderful New Year!

    Reply
  7. the stamp you used is really cool and I love the pin too….great stuff…Melinda

    Reply
  8. love them!! great work!!

    Reply
  9. Those are both really great!! You are always able to craft. I really need to get back in the groove.. That’s my goal this year. Can I ask a blog question?? Do you like WordPress???

    Reply
  10. wonderful. you don’t notice the hand until you look closely, it looks like a pattern at first. great idea with the lolly stick

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

