Shape Up! Crusade #27

gpp27

I really enjoyed my voyage of discovery last year when I started joining in with Michelle Ward’s GPP Street Team Crusades. It opened my eyes to a lot of new artistic possibilities and created a few demons too – a slight obsession with handcarving stamps, for instance – *grins*

I also ‘met’ new people and took part in Michelle’s Pink Wink, which, amongst other things, just felt so good to be helping people who make a difference. I admire Michelle immensely – she’s extraordinarily talented and also seems so fearless to me (artistically). I find these challenges motivating and fulfilling. The feedback we give and receive is terrific and often really helpful. Winning a challenge is merely the icing on the cake!!

So anyway, here’s my first entry to this month’s Crusade – Shape up! It’s about investigating a shape and running with it. I carved 2 heart-shaped stamps and created this journal page with them.

gpp-shape1

The little arrow, wich is incomplete, was a small chunk I cut off the first carving and of course, you know me… I can’t bear to waste anything, so a tiny arrow was born! I am really enjoying the freedom of journalling without actually personally journalling – IYKWIM. Although maybe my subconscious is dictating what actually appears on the pages?

Who cares? It’s a very enjoyable process. If you’ve never taken part in one of these Street Team challenges before, do it! Don’t be intimidated by some of the fab work you see and think maybe you’re not ‘good’ enough. Just enjoy the challenges and embrace them – you really can discover a lot about your tastes, and yourself if you do! We’re all different and that’s probably the most fascinating aspect of this monthly get-together – creativity and inspiration abound!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Wow, what a fabulous page! Love that incomplete arrow and the way you used it 😉

    Reply
  2. Enjoying the process is the crux of it, wouldn’t ya say? And if the outcome is beautiful, all the more better, if not then you’ve still had a wonderful time. Awesome page!
    Peace & Love,
    ~Barb~

    Reply
  3. Great hearts – and that arrow is pretty cool too! The page is great, there is so much to look at.

    Reply
  4. rosie – thanks for your kind words. if you could see me now, imagine little hearts swirling around my head like a cartoon. thanks for jumping in on the crusade, and sharing your carved hearts (and arrow) and fab page. enjoying the process – that is the subliminal message in every challenge. you figured it out 🙂

    Reply
  5. Julie

     /  January 11, 2009

    rosei, this is truly lovely. I am in the process of doing the heart too! Should get some pics up in the next day or so. I love the way you used that scrap to make the arrow…such a good idea! Lovely!

    Reply
  6. belle2create

     /  January 12, 2009

    Hi Rosie,
    hearts are a very good choice!!! And the arrow is great, love both the shapes AND your journalpage!
    Hedwig

    Reply
  7. I love your heart stamps!! Great job with the arrow too- Using every bit is a challenge in itself- sometimes the Leftovers turn out better than the intended originals- or perhaps they actually were the intended originals!!
    love your page!!
    I ahd better get going!!
    hugs!
    Elizabeth

    Reply
  8. Rosie you are so right about these challenges. The way you’ve used your hearts, and used every.bit.of.them! is really good, and inspirational. Thanks for sharing this.

    Reply
  9. I love your use of hearts. Great demonstration that hearts don’t have to be cutesy, which a lot of people don’t realize IMO. Love the “leftover” arrow!

    Reply
  10. Great journal page, Rosie. Love the hearts (and arrow) that you carved. I can really relate to the stamp carving addiction after Michelle’s challenge from last year.

    Reply
  11. Some wonderful, hearty exploration, here, Rosie ! I have been using the heart in my own stuff a lot lately – I “love” it !

    I so agree with you about the crusades being such a gift to us all !
    Rock on, Crusader !

    Reply
  12. jacquie

     /  January 19, 2009

    I like this journal page. It seems to tell a story, with a lot of different meanings.

    Reply
  13. Really nice! I Love those two hearts together….also like how you added all of your collage elements!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

