Anti-Valentine’s Day contest!

 

This is so me! A contest found by fellow DT member Carolyn, who made a fab anti-V day pincushion which I loved and that inspired this extraordinary quilted project. This is not for the faint-hearted, folks… DD absolutely hates it and DH is worried about my (warped) perspective.

The Rules:
Quite Simple: The theme is anti-valentines. Something a bit darker/creepier than you average valentine project–or however you interpret “Anti-Valentine”. Illustrations or any sort of food or craft project welcome. (
Click on the button to go there)

Me?? Oh I had a blast! The most annoying part was waiting for the 3D blood trails to dry overnight before putting the finishing touches to it. And I have to thank my mate Debs for the midnight blue velvet – never in your worst nightmares did you envisage it becoming this eh? (Don’t tell your Mum…)

mbv-1

It’s called “My Bloody Valentine” – like the film, which I have no intention of seeing, although it inspired this quiltie!! Here are a few closer looks at the Special FX!!

mbv-2

The bottlecap contains a kissing couple and is covered with blood-red cellophane…

mbv-31

The beads on wire are from a Christmas candlestick I ‘recycled’ !!

mbv-4

It feels so good to have finished this piece. I’m off to see the creepy cupcakes entry!

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Dawn

     /  January 31, 2009

    Oh woweee I love it Rosie – this is just me as well if I could do it that is!!

    Reply
  2. OH I think is AWESOMLY CREEPY !!! hehehe love it.

    Reply
  3. I love your bloody valentine!

    Our poor DHs – what must they think? (Though I said to mine, “Would you have married me if I made little frilly Valentines?”)

    Reply
  4. WOW, this is fabby Rosie, soo much detail. The blood drops/splatters are great!

    Reply
  5. If I made something like this, DH would be very worried!!!!!! You don’t need therapy, you just have a very creative mind 😉

    Reply
  6. How bloody wonderful!!!!

    Reply
  7. I think I love it except for the blood 🙂
    I guess I’m just too squeamish! Fabulous detail tho with the safety pins and the stitching – really very Tim Burton like ….

    Reply
  8. Debs

     /  February 3, 2009

    Rosie….It’s fab……& you are welcome; I promise I wont tell mum!

    Reply
  9. WOW!!!! I love your *warped* perspective! This is a serious gothic grunge heart! You never cease to amaze, Rosie!! XOXO

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

