It’s official – we’re snowed in!

Well this morning, this is what I (and many others in the UK, no doubt), woke up to:

frontofhouse

The view from our upstairs bedroom window… and worse still:

our-road

4″-6″ of white stuff – compact and deadly, but fun for the kids! So we can’t get out of our road, let alone the village, as we’re at the top of a hill!

However, in the interests of keeping the kitchen a bit cleaner and feeling sorry for little Millie (whose legs are very short), I got on DH’s weather-proof boots and cleared a bit of a path to the back garden. Then I hung a new seedbag for the hungry birds and my ‘wild-child’ surfaced. I played snowballs with Thor for a while and made this snow-bunny!!!

snow-bunny 

Who says it’s not art??? heehee! Although he’s cute, I think this guy’s cuter…

snowdog1

snowdog2

This one’ll give you an idea of how much fell overnight… our summer table (ironic really!)

summertable

I mean, that’s just ridiculous, isn’t it? And this is just pretty:

wishingwell

More of the same is forecast for later though. Snow/sleet showers and temperatures of -3 to -4 degrees, so I expect I won’t be going anywhere for the next day or so. DD also informed me we are due a blizzard on Thursday (*rolls eyes*). I hope she’s wrong, but…

On the upside, I have time to get a lot of arting and decluttering done, so there’s obviously a silver lining for us. It’s terrible how unprepared we are in the UK to deal with freakish weather…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Lennie

     /  February 3, 2009

    loved your snow pictures, Rosie., and your snow bunny too. I like this quote and used it on my family newsletter for February, It’s by J.B. Priestley and goes like this: “The first fall of snow is a magical event. You go to bed in one kind of world and wake up in another quite different.”
    Enjoy the slower pace that a nice snowfall brings into your life.

    Reply
  2. Hi – This was me yesterday and I too uploaded photos to my blog!!! I love getting a snow day, it looks beautiful where you are with all that snow! I too had 4-6 inches of snow and it is still here today, although the roads were passable this morning so had to go to work ;-(

    But as you say, there is more forecast for the end of the week!

    Reply
  3. Hope you are OK Rosie….doesn’t the snow make everything look magical?
    Now what I want to know is which challenge you are entering the snow bunny for ?!!
    Take care….Sending warm ((((hugs)))) x

    Reply
  4. Great piccies Rosie – its looks lovely until you have to go out in it! Love that snow bunny

    Reply
  5. Beautiful snow…..I was in London last year in April and woke up to about 6 inches of snow…..that one melted off pretty quick…we went to Windsor that day and it was so stunning……didn’t realize you guys could get that snowed in …but I am in Texas and we are pretty unprepared when it snows too!!!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

