“Heroes”

Mixed Media Monday’s theme, hosted by the hugely talented Beth, is “Heroes”. Beth made a quilt to honour Georgia O’Keefe which is wonderful. I bottled my ladies up in this altered bottle I acquired yesterday and used text to highlight positive thoughts on ‘women’, who are my Heroes.

I just think that no matter how great men are, it’s always the women who pick up the pieces, clean up the aftermath of their ‘greatness’ and stand quietly behind them, getting on with it and allowing them the freedom to make ‘it’ happen…

altered-bottle1

My images were 2 in a row on The Little Purple Things sheets (again!!). I love those tiny images – so useful for small projects! Here are 3 m ore shots with a little more detail, although I apologise for the slightly ‘fuzzy’ close-up of the ladies…

altered-bottle2

altered-bottle3

altered-bottle4

I brayered a piece of text paper, added the images (plus a feather for a tag!) and rolled it up so I could pop it in the bottle. Then I used wild plum copper mixative and stream on the outside of the bottle and the cork stopper. I made a rolled tag with more text from the same book and borrowed DD’s highlighters in blue and purple for certain ‘feminine’ words. I stuck the ribbon inside the bottle and used the stopper to hold it in place!  

I’m planning on opening my online shop at the end of next month after I have completed the book-keeping on our little home-based business and the Reels on Wheels Charitable organisation accounts ready for submission later this year.

Meantime, I am blogging and surfing for a while before I cook dinner…

Working out how best to use my Creative Options Kit to maximum effect, and parallel-thinking!!! 🙂

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. The bottle is fantastic! The colors are so rich and lustrous. Your ladies seem perfectly at home in their bottle, and your feelings ring true.

    Reply
  2. mixedmediamonday

     /  February 23, 2009

    Heroism worth bottling! Wonderful piece of art, Rosie. Diane

    Reply
  3. Beautiful bottle, and a wonderful, creative idea! Right now I’d like to bottle sleep! LOL! Keep me posted about your shop!!! How exciting! XOXO

    Reply
  4. K Hutchinson

     /  February 24, 2009

    This is so creative! What a wonderful idea. The bottle turned out gorgeous!

    Reply
  5. barnie

     /  February 24, 2009

    Wow, Rosie, such a fantastic idea, this bottle looks wonderful.

    Reply
  6. I love your site!

    _____________________
    Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

