Mixed Media Monday

Heather is Guesting at Mixed Media Monday this week and her chosen theme is “Time”. I started this box months ago: I altered it, hated how it looked and shoved it in a box. Whilst I was tidying I came across it again and thought it would be a crime to chuck it out. So I re-altered it!!

I used text pages, gesso, Stewart Gill paint and Home Impressions Cogs and Clocks stamps. I punched a few 1″ circles from papers and a postage stamp and placed them in the centre of some of the cogs. It’s sealed with gel medium and the inside was inked with distress ink brayered over an old book page then darkened with Brown Stazon. I’ve added some playing cards (ATC size) and a couple of ‘things’ to show how it can be used!

mmm-timebox1

mmm-timebox2

mmm-timebox3

The black shrinkie was from Adrienne – I just edged it with gold Krylon pen and adhered it to the lining with a piece of sticky foam cut to size.

mmm-timebox4

It’s deeper than it looks… 😉

Previous Post
Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. beautiful altered box!

    Reply
  2. Rosie, this is magnificent! Honestly, you can take a lowly box and make it into something gorgeous that will be treasured for years to come. Beautifully composed and cleverly designed inside and out.

    Reply
  3. mixedmediamonday

     /  March 1, 2009

    Oh, Rosie, what a stunning box! Gorgeous! I’d love to see your clock too, maybe you could post it as well? Diane

    Reply
  4. what a cool box…very neat idea…

    Reply
  5. You’ve made the box a memory piece to be treasured. Good for you!
    Applause!

    Reply
  6. B

     /  March 2, 2009

    It’s a wonderful box! I’m so glad you reworked it.

    Reply
  7. Beautiful. So gorgeous, Rosie!

    Reply
  8. Gorgeous treasure box – now you can keep a lid on time! 🙂

    Reply
  9. Love your beautiful altered box. Great artwork.

    Reply
  10. what a great treasure box!!

    Reply
  11. Oh boy that looks soooo lovely!Great!

    Reply
  12. its gorgeous!!!

    Reply
  13. Wow beautiful altered box!
    great image.

    Reply
  14. Wow!! An amazing altered box. Fantastic.

    Reply
  15. So inspired Rosie, so glad you didn’t chuck it! What a great bit of fancy storage you have too!

    Reply
  16. Absolutely fabulous!

    Reply
  17. This reminds me of the one I just submitted. Ah Great minds think alike LOL

    Reply
  18. Stunning!

    Reply
  19. What a gorgeous box!!

    Reply
  20. Just found you through the image transfer group. This box makes me want to decorate some boxes I have – I’d been thinking of selling them to destash, but now….

    Reply
  21. Great piece, it was worth persevering with!!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

