WS – Transfer

Wednesday Stamper invited us to show image transfers in our artwork today and I used a puzzle piece which I wasn’t happy with as my base. It has been covered with newsprint, painted and over-painted with silver acrylic paint. I used an image from the Orange Things Collage sheet at Ten Two Studios.

I first tried this technique last year after watching Claudine Hellmuth’s video tutorial on the subject. It’s quite simple and the trick to success is having the right amount of paint to lay your image onto before burnishing like crazy! Then you have to patiently wait till it’s completely dry before spritzing with water and rubbing the paper off carefully.

ws-puzzle-transfer

I never seem to completely get rid of all the ‘fuzzies’, but I still like how it turned out. I used black stazon to stamp images onto parts of the puzzle and copper wire from my friend’s DH, threaded with a few beads, to embellish it. This one’s going on my fridge in the new house!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. its fabulous!

    Reply
  2. this is absolutely gorgeous!!

    Reply
  3. Your puzzle looks marvelous Rosie, great mysterious quality to your transfer and the colors are scrumptious too! Moving the caravan are we 🙂

    Reply
  4. should have said the “gipsy” caravan 🙂
    also, the wire and beads are such a great touch!!!

    Reply
  5. Lynn Stevens

     /  March 26, 2009

    So original, it came out wonderful!, i don’t know why you don’t like it?

    Reply
  6. Rosie, I don’t know what this looks like “in the flesh” but I love the misty quality it shows on your webpage. It is elegant and creative and soft. Beautiful.

    Reply
  7. Audrey Meijs

     /  March 26, 2009

    Beautiful!

    Reply
  8. my compliments! wonderful piece!

    Reply
  9. What a stunning puzzle piece. Great idea…..and fabulous transfer.

    Reply
  10. Lovely piece Rosie – I’ve never tried transfers – going to see if I can find that video you mentioned.

    Reply
  11. Gorgeous paint and textures! So beautiful combined with the image and the stamping! This is wonderful, Rosie!

    Reply
  12. I really loved your puzzle piece. The colors are so intriging and I could see this as a broach for a suit jacket especially at Art Openings or functions. Thanks for sharing it with us and for explaining how you approached working on it. Very well done!

    Reply
  13. Excellent blog very well laid out indeed. I wish mine were as good as yours. Keep up the good work! If I could have your 10% creativity I would be very proud.

    Reply
  1. Sampler transfer « Wednesday Stamper / Mittwochstempler

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

