TGIF and MIM!

Make It Mondays challenged us to use words of wisdom about art… and TGIF this week challenged us to make Gothic Arch ATCs, so I’ve combined the 2 here in a Gothic Diptych. I love the movement in Van Gogh’s work and he’s always been one of my all-time favourite artists, so it’s only to be expected that I’d use one of his images from The Little Blue Things sheet and a quote by him for the exercise!

atc-diptych

Image: Ten Two Studios, Art Quote stamp: MaVinci, Swirl: Crafty Individuals

The background was cut from a Fairies Calendar, gessoed thinly – which I applied by hand and then ‘fingerprinted’. I dried it off with my heat gun and stamped the Crafty Individuals swirl on the background, doodled round that in black and white, then added my image and the art quote.

TIP: I find inking the edges of skinny and small pieces of card or paper quite fiddly (with my big fingers!), so I now use permanent markers for the edging instead, just running the side of the tip around the edges of the paper/cardstock. A lot less fiddly!

…. I’m out all day tomorrow at Stafford Moor Fishery where DH is taking part in one of the Fish O’Mania heats. He’s the only disabled angler competing tomorrow and I have my fingers crossed for him. It’s going to be a loooong day for both of us – up at 6am, waiting for the 9am peg draw, then set-up and fishing a non-stop 5 hour match… We may get home by about 7pm with a bit of luck. Hopefully the weather will be kind and at least we won’t get wet too!

I’ll let you know how it goes, but I’m taking a book and my gardening magazine, plus a mini art journal given to me by my BBF Barbara, so I definitely won’t lack things to occupy me! Happy days! 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Love your trubute to Vincent!

    Reply
  2. Poor Vincent….lovely tribute

    Hope all of the fish bite and that there will be fish for dinner too! Enjoy your day in the great outdoors with your sweetie!

    Reply
  3. Amy

     /  May 2, 2009

    SWEET..I love Van Gogh!!

    Reply
  4. Your Arches are fabulous. Great blue.

    Reply
  5. Sandy

     /  May 2, 2009

    Wow this is very impressive.
    Fantastic Dyptich. I love them.

    Thanks Rosie for your GA-Atc´s to TGiF.

    Reply
  6. great arch!!

    Reply
  7. Gorgeous arch

    Reply
  8. I have missed your blog SO MUCH during what turned out to be almost a month’s vacation from blogging! It would take too much space to write all the beautiful adjectives floating around my head to describe your work!!! Especially that gorgeous mermaid a post or two back, and the lovely swirls that compliment Van Gogh’s starry night! Are you settled-in your new home? Was the fishing good? I am aching to get back into the blogging loop, but must ease back into it as there is so much to be done. I will email you soon. XOXO

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

