MMM – Layers

Diane challenged us to use “Layers” this week at Mixed Media Monday and as I am taking Julie’s Layer Love Class, what could be easier than to show you Lesson #4 as it turned out?

LL4-1a

This on 9″x12″  canvas, using acrylic paints and Picket Fence Distress Crackle Paint. All it lacks is words and images… so, although it’s not finished, it certainly has a lot of layers.

I’m thinking a crow, a phrase and a black rose may well fit right in there. I’ll be sure to share when I add them!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. What a great background, Rosie!

    Reply
  2. Very intriguing background….looking forward to seeing the crow or whatever else you add.

    Reply
  3. Oh, what a teaser you are! Now I can’t wait to see the finished piece. I love crows, and this is a great background for one or some!

    Reply
  4. Layer Love = Perfect! Your canvas looks great, bet the close up of the crackle is cool too!

    Reply
  5. The canvas is gorgeous. It looks like peering into an iceberg! I’m looking forward to seeing what you add to it.
    Faye

    Reply
  6. It looks gorgeous and very intersting already.

    Reply
  7. Wow, great beginning. Love it.

    Reply
  8. Wonderful and dramatic- it sets the stage for a beautiful piece!

    Reply
  9. Yvonne

     /  June 1, 2009

    Lovely!

    Reply
  10. I can really appreciate the depth you have achieved in this background. I hope you will finish it and show the restult to your blogfriends!! Great work.

    Reply
  11. WOW, I love this, very dark, I’d love to be able to do this!! 🙂

    Reply
  12. mixedmediamonday

     /  June 2, 2009

    Oooh, Rosie – this is amazing! Love the effect you achieved. I hope we get to see the finished piece as well. Diane

    Reply
  13. Love the look of texture. I vote for a crow and words :}

    Reply
  14. Oh stunning and so so original.

    Reply
  15. Wow, dramatic background! looking forward to see the rest of the piece.

    Reply
  16. Great background. I´m taking Layer Love as well. 🙂
    x Natasha x

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

