Doors!

That’s this week’s challenge at The Three Muses blog… and it really got me thinking. I am working all day on Saturday in my capacity as a volunteer for the Holsworthy Scrapstore, for our Midsummer Night’s Day event. I have made my fairy skirt (!), my badge so people know I’m a helper, and not a middle-aged hippie wannabe (*grins*) and I told the girls I’d make a tiara too! I promise to post pics – yes, really!!

Anyway, I thought about making a fairy door, but I have no idea where my lolly sticks are, so then I remembered my Go Ask Alice Collage Sheets from Ten Two Studios – and all the trouble started when she opened that door, didn’t it? Well, as my paint pot still had brushes and water in it from this morning, I found the image, the words and the right sized puzzle piece for the job! Here’s my lovingly layered red background and the girl herself – Alice!!

doors

I did consider a light red wash over the entire piece, but it’s Alice that’s the focus, not my layers!! I think I’m obsessed with altering puzzle pieces, but the shapes really excite me – they’re so irregular and these large ones are quite odd. I have one that looks like a cartoon character’s profile ready to collage, but I’m still seeking the ‘right’ image!

Next Post
Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. Now, why am I picturing you with your fairy skirt on, and a lolly stick in hand?! Love your lovingly layered background, and it IS a puzzle what’s behind the door! Great piece, Rosie. Thanks for participating!

    Reply
  2. Rosie, what a great interpretation of doors! Love how you made the puzzle with a door . The color red really pops!!

    Reply
  3. What a great interpretation of doors!!

    Reply
  4. Your puzzle piece is so cool, Rosie.

    Reply
  5. Great!

    Reply
  6. Rosie, I love your interpretation on the doors theme. Who would have thought of Alice and on a puzzle piece too?

    Reply
  7. This is fenominal Rosie !!
    So different from other ones and therfore one of my favorites !!
    By big aplaus for you !

    Reply
  8. There’s no door so closed that a creative imagination couldn’t open it! Fantastically original work, Rosie!

    Reply
  9. ellen

     /  June 17, 2009

    I love the red scratchy background and a great subject for your doors . it looks great on that puzzle piece

    Reply
  10. Rosie this is a brilliant take on doors!! That puzzle piece is fantastic, I love the crazy shape and the rich reds on there. Your work is amazing 😉
    Cheers,
    Gaye

    Reply
  11. Lynn Stevens

     /  June 17, 2009

    How creative , great take on the theme

    Reply
  12. Very very clever and creative! Kudos!

    Reply
  13. astridchristine

     /  June 17, 2009

    great take on the theme

    Reply
  14. This is very creative and imaginative! I like puzzle pieces too, but I haven’t tried them in artwork. Maybe I will, after being inspired by you. 🙂

    Reply
  15. This is wonderful and very creative! Go ask Alice…

    Reply
  16. Very creative and beautiful. I love the chapter with Alice and the little door!

    Reply
  17. What a great choice – Alice’s door! Your puzzle piece is terrific. Love the paint job you have given it!

    Reply
  18. Gorgeous, great shape

    Reply
  19. Fun – I thought of Alice immediately too! I love your puzzle piece – very creative use!

    Reply
  20. ooo your new paint tricks look wonderful, great background for your special Alice offering!!!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

