Charming junk!

EDIT:  Diane has had flu and was unable to post the usual challenge for everyone this week, so it’s now scheduled to appear next Monday – 27th July!

I’m Guest Hosting at Mixed Media Monday this week and I have created a little charm bracelet out of broken/recycled jewellery, beads and blue wire and some mini-domino tiles (pre-drilled),  and bottle caps. I have two pots full of old jewellery – can’t resist it! – which I use in quilties, collages and “odd” jewellery, which I call ‘wearable art’!

My inspiration comes from Belinda Spiwak – Crazy Art Girl… she’s awesome at this! She makes all sorts of wonderful chains and bracelets using found objects, text beads… the list goes on!

junk-jewellery

It’s a lot of fun to add random charms and beads to a bracelet and make it uniquely your own… just a bit fiddly and time-consuming. The funky blue wire was a bargain buy at a Craft Show I went to in March this year – should’ve bought more!! The mini-doms, from Ten Two Studios, are available with all sorts of collage images and are so easy to embellish as they’re drilled top and bottom. These two were left over from a domino bracelet I made for a friend’s birthday, so they were ideal to add to this little charmer!

I’d love to see what you do with junk, charms or recycled items – how you incorporate it into your art… 😉

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Fabulous bracelet!!!!

    Reply
  2. Fantastic creation Rosie, each bit is extra special. Great inspiration! I am just getting ready to post my altered plate , something I’ve wanted to do for a while now, thanks for a great challenge……so much junk……so little time 😉

    Reply
  3. What a fun bracelet, Rosie! You really know how to put things together and make them come out beautiful!! I love it!

    Reply
  4. Beautiful bracelet, Rosie. Mine ended up being a charm necklace. Once I started making them I couldn’t stop! I had posted it before, so didn’t post it this time. What’s up with Diane? It’s Monday evening and she still hasn’t posted. I hope she’s OK!

    Reply
  5. Rosie- This is really beautiful, I love all the precious charms, none of which I would dream of labeling junk! Christen

    Reply
  6. Rosie your bracelet is so charming, love alle the differents thing you have used, thanks for a great challenge.

    Reply
  7. Hi ,and thanks for your sweet comments on my blog.

    I love your bracelet-have long wanted to do one myselves, but did not have the curage yet.
    I`m a pink soul, so this beautifull thing ,is realy me-

    Dorthe

    Reply
  8. This is just the kind of funky jewelry that I love!

    Reply
  9. mixedmediamonday

     /  July 28, 2009

    Rosie, this is such a stunning piece! It’s always such a pleasure to have you as guest host – I love your art! Thanks for your kind words – I’m getting a little better each day, but still not able to do any art, so unfortunately I’ll probably miss this challenge. But I’m looking forward to your next one 🙂 Diane

    Reply
  10. A very charming piece of jewelry! In my favorite color, too!

    Reply
  1. 2010 in review « Altered Art & Stuff…

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

