Blue and Purple Spoons!

Created by Hand gave us a colour combo to work with today, so I thought I’d show you how I’ve been spending quite a lot of my time recently. Here’s a pair of altered blue/purple “Fishy” spoons that I have in the Seventh Wave Gallery in Bude where I live, featuring the April Fish Collage Set images from Ten Two Studios.

These were “must-have” images as we live in a coastal resort and fish fit rather nicely! Martyn explained the “Poisson d’Avril” (April Fish) mystery to me… the French version of our April Fool’s Day! Such fun! See, the French do have a sense of the ridiculous too!

Fishy-spoons

These two hang from a wire loop at the back which I incorporate whilst I’m beading. I did think it might be more pratical to drill holes in them for ease of hanging – that was before I tried it this morning! DH showed me how to drill the first one and then I had a go. My first attempt was fine and then I tried drilling a hole in Chromium plated steel – uh-uh… Barely scratched the surface.

My wonderful DH then took pity on me, changed the drillbit I had snapped and drilled holes in several more items for me. It just proved a point to me – my best and most favourite power tool is my husband! 😉

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. billiescraftroom

     /  August 18, 2009

    Hi Rosie

    What a superb project. They remind me of an updated version of Victorian Love spoons 🙂

    Love that colour combination, I use it a lot and its my favorite.

    Drilling is harder than they boys make it look isn’t it. I’ve been trying with a dremmel…on paper that is.

    Good luck, I’m sure with a bit of practice, drilling on softer surfaces, you will get the hang of it.

    Billie 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Billie! I was using a full-size power drill (cordless, thank goodness!) and that’s heavy as it is. It really didn’t like the cutlery, but it’s brilliant for dominos, etc.!!
      Boy, I’d love a dremmel… and Belinda’s giving one away on her blog!

      Reply
      • billiescraftroom

         /  August 23, 2009

        Hi Rosie

        With the RSI, I have to use my Dremmel with a stand. I use mine for drilling book blocks, for Japanese stab binds.

        Is it me just me though, or do you too find victorian men a bit er… scary. I’d run a mile if I met those men. (sorry not meaning to be rude). Do you make these with pretty ladies too?

        Just found a great vintage image site you might like? http://www.thevintagemoth.blogspot.com/

        Hugs

        Billie xx

  2. Very nice. Interesting take.
    Oh well no hubby, so need to fend for myself BIG GRIN

    Reply
  3. Wonderful spoons you!!! I am not a power tool kinda girl, at all! I’m with you on your favorite power tool…I mean Mr Magpie of course 😉

    Reply
  4. Wow this is gorgeous !!!

    Reply
  5. Wowww, beide Werke sind super gemacht!!

    Reply
  6. allmimsey

     /  August 19, 2009

    These are great fun!

    Reply
  7. Spectacular spoons! They’re beautiful! I love fishes and wings – my two favorite things so your blog is just perfect in my estimation! Wow!

    Reply
  8. Beautiful spoons, Rosie, but your comments were priceless…I agree about husbands and tools! But, it gets to be a problem when they want to give you all of their tools as an excuse to buy more for themselves…I would really prefer just to share…lol. Hugs, Gayle.

    Reply
  9. Oh I love that film and i love what you are doing here. great work and those spoons are fabulous and my fave colour too.
    hugs June x

    Reply
  10. These are amazing!!!!

    Linda

    Reply
  11. These are gorgeous!!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

