Charlie Lookalikes…

I’m at market today and the forecast is for rain (again…) so I wouldn’t really be in the mood for a challenge of any kind, having dealt with them all day long!! I have made these 2 ATCs for the “Charlie Chaplin” challenge set by The Three Muses this week. I used 2 of my old favourite characters from the Victorian Stamp sheet by Home Impressions, mainly because of the Bowler hats! #2 really needs to grow a moustache if he wants any work as a Lookalike!

Charlo1

Charlo2

The frames are a cut down Sizzix flimstrip die and both images are stamped on clear plastic, using black stazon and stitched to the cards. I like that you can still see the background – paint smooshed! I am making inroads into my handmade backgrounds box… slowly but surely!

Have a good day all!

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. What absolute fun! I love that they’re stamped on clear platic and stitched to your backgrounds. Very creative and artistic, Rosie. Great Charlie look-alikes….although I agree that last one has only his bowler hat in common! Thanks for sharing your process in creating these.

    Reply
  2. Wonderful take on this theme Rosie- ever so creaitve and expressive of those times- lovely work!

    Reply
  3. These are just fantastic…those frames are perfect…the first reminds me of Charlie with his makeup…the second Charlie without….

    Reply
  4. Phew Rosie.
    You always amaze me with your unique ideas !
    And the purple colours you have add.
    What a Brilliant presentation !

    Reply
  5. taluula

     /  September 2, 2009

    Rosie you never fail to amaze me with your creative endeavours, both of these are fantastic, and if they went into an ID parade i’d say it was the first one ‘who done it’. Tee hee.

    Reply
  6. Thanks sooo much for sharing your great techniques! Both of these cards are wonderfully creative. Your backgrounds stash must be awesome! Hugs, Terri

    Reply
  7. Great idea, Rosie! Very original approach to the challenge.

    Reply
  8. both are great!!! love the purples!!!

    Reply
  9. Great idea! Love them both.

    Reply
  10. This is delightful, Rosie.
    Fantastic artwork.

    Reply
  11. I love all the elements you’ve used here, Rosie. Looks like you put a lot of thought AND work into these.

    Great job!

    Juli

    Reply
  12. Wow! These two superb lookalikes have taken my breath away. Your artwork is so fantastic, Rosie. I love the idea that you went with the look of Charlie Chaplin and not with one of his many well known images. I love thinking-outside-the-box approaches to themes. Standing ovation from me.

    Reply
  13. Brilliant entries, Rosie, love the difference you have brought to the challenge!

    Reply
  14. I have fallen in love with your Charlies!! These are just the best things I’ve seen in a long, long time!! BRAVO!

    Reply
  15. These are both well done!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo