“Old school!”

I must admit that I was less than enthused about this week’s theme of “School” for the Sunday Postcard Art challenge, but then that’s what challenges are great for – pushing you to create something even if it’s not your fave subject.

I found these images on The Little Dickens Sheet, along with the clothing atgs and ticket in my Ten Two Studios stash. I did get a complete finger and nail covered in alcohol ink without realising… good job I didn’t pick my nose, isn’t it? (Sorry! but it is about schoolboys…)

SPA-school

Suffice it to say, I thoroughly enjoyed myself making this!! I think my buoyant mood is also down to the fact that I succeeded in making a better job of my second handmade book, so that lifted my spirits!! For anyone who’s interested, I’m taking the Art Journalling Supernova online class with Julie Prichard, who is patiently trying to teach numpties like me, how to produce beautiful handmade books, which we can journal in, give as presents, or sell!

It’s a fascinating process and doesn’t take as long as I thought it would – great fun and a great, friendly, supportive class! 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. “Old School” is a great collage piece. It’s good to be challenged and you met it head on!

    Reply
  2. I enjoyed the journaling as much as the art, Rosie! The piece shows that you had fun making it, and thanks for sharing. (The journal making class sounds great. I can’t wait to see the results).

    Reply
  3. WOW~!!~ for not being very inspired you certainly did a beautiful job~!!~ this is my favorite card so far~!!!~

    🙂
    libbyQ

    Reply
  4. Wonderful collage Rosie- inventive and artistically made! Love it!

    Reply
  5. Fantastic collage, Rosie. Beautifully created.

    Reply
  6. Its gorgeous, great background

    Reply
  7. This is a fabulous piece! Sometimes the toughest challenges produce the best art – it did for you! Cheers!

    Reply
  8. it’s so beautiful!! love the background!

    Reply
  9. Hella

     /  September 6, 2009

    Nice postcard

    Reply
  10. i agree with you exactly! this challenge kicked by butt but i am so happy with the results. love your piece!!

    Reply
  11. Wow, this is wonderful! If you hadn’t told us, I would have thought this was your favourite subject. 🙂

    Cindy 🙂

    Reply
  12. Wow! Your collage is superb. Who cares about a slow start when the getting there is such an adventure with such a stunning outcome!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

