Technicolour Sunset!

Mixed Media Monday’s Guest Host this week – Beth – has made the most delightful quilties, depicting what “Time of the Day” means to her… My take on this challenge was to draw my interpretation of sunset, which is by far my favourite time of day, using a charcoal pencil, Neocolours II soluble crayons and a new black Pitt Pen. The Pitt pen is fab as it’ll write, draw or doodle on most any surface! Not terribly keen on the white Posca pen though… it’s brilliantly white, but as leaky as a bucket!

sunset

I simply roughed out the lines with a charcoal pencil, then added shades of the Neos, finishing off with my own ‘poppy-head’ stamp and some fine line doodling…

Since some of you have expressed an interest in the handmade books I am learning to make over at Julie Prichard’s Supernova class, I thought I’d share a few pics. Here’s the first book, which DD fell in love with – she chose the cover papers:

Book1

And a view from above so you can see the raggedy papers…

Book1-top

And this one is my 2nd, to be gifted to my friend Caz, who’s returning to college soon and will probably find it handy as a notebook. I used sturdy cartridge paper for this one:

book#2

Once you start making books, I can see how easy it is to become addicted! The tricky part is finding the right weight and quality papers to make the book block, but I am making more books on the pretext of experimenting with what I have in my stash, while searching for something affordable of good quality. I’m sure the ‘right’ stuff is out there, I just have to hunt it down!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. It is fantastic, wonderfull,love the text behind too,

    Reply
  2. Beth

     /  September 8, 2009

    Oh, the colors are just fantastic, and I agree with Dorhe, the text in the background is an excellent layer of design.

    Reply
  3. K Hutchinson

     /  September 8, 2009

    You are on a roll with these Rosie! I am loving this class too!

    They are all turning out so cool!

    Reply
  4. Superb artwork. Your blog is a joy.

    Reply
  5. Very cool sunset. Beginning to wish I’d signed up for both parts of Julie’s course now. Oh for more time in a day…

    Reply
  6. This is my first time at your site and I am impressed. Terrific artwork. I also made a sunset for this challenge. Cheers

    Reply
  7. I love your sunset, Rosie, and the journal books are terrific. I’d like to know more about the construction, and (DUH) what is cartridge paper? Whatever it is, I like it!

    Reply
  8. Really lovely, great colors!

    Reply
  9. billiescraftroom

     /  September 9, 2009

    Hi Rosie

    You did a great job with your books. Well done.

    As you say bookbinding is very addictive, you already have the ‘What else can I do this with’ twitch. Wait till its friend ‘How many other ways are there of doing this?’ arrives 🙂

    Great fun for the long winter evenings though 😉

    Best wishes
    Billie

    Reply
  10. mixedmediamonday

     /  September 11, 2009

    What a wonderful piece, Rosie! The book looks fantastic too! Diane

    Reply
  11. I enjoy this site, it is worth me coming back

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

