SaWo – Altered Cutlery

That’s the challenge today at Saturday’s Workout – Altered Cutlery. Here are a couple of large spoons that I have in the Seventh Wave Gallery in Bude… I still have some Zombie spoons to finish for the Halloween window, but like everything else, it takes time!

I love altering cutlery and probably the most complex part for me, is finding the right size images and text to go with them. I spend ages poring over collage sheets and leafing through old books to find appropriate phrases or words to go with them. Sometimes that can be too distracting as I end up actually reading the pages of an old book!!!

sailor-spoon

I really liked this sailor boy image – from The Ten Two Studios Little Children sheet. Here’s a closer look:

sailor-spoon2

All the cutlery is finished with an integrated hanger and sealed with a coat of acrylic medium to protect the images and colour. Here’s a little girl with a yacht – typical vintage posing…

yachts-spoon

Mind you, I suppose it could even be a little boy, with a pageboy bob? Here’s a closer view…

yachts-spoon2

Even though I do most of my creating upstairs in my “space”, the coffee table is still full of small transparent tubs which hold beads, wire, broken jewellery, etc. which I use to finish these pieces off. The other thing I probably couldn’t live without are beanbag lap trays … they’re my best friend when it comes to the evenings – finishing off projects, etc. while I sit and watch my favourite programmes! (CSI, Warehouse 13, Blue Murder, Lie To Me, Fringe, Medium, Merlin, Strictly Come Dancing…  to name but a few!)

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Sandy

     /  October 3, 2009

    OMG Rosie your spoon are really unique.
    Absolutely stunning work. Love them.

    Thanks Rosie for your altered cutlery to SaWo.

    Reply
  2. Wow, great work, I like both.

    Reply
  3. These are Gorgeous!

    Reply
  4. Rosie, both spoons are so beautifully created. Really great artwork.
    (Wusste garnicht, dass Du so pefekt deutsch sprichst?)

    Reply
  5. Love these and your Zettis!!!
    Beautiful! 😉

    Reply
  6. Tolles Werk!

    Reply
  7. This is fabulous. Now why didn’t I think of wire. Wonderful job.

    Reply
  8. Wonderful spoons Rosie…love them both xxx

    Reply
  9. Love your altered spoons Rosie! I would so enjoy seeing your Halloween ones for the gallery too!

    Reply
  10. Spoons are lovely, like the use of the wire and beads. Anesha

    Reply
  11. great pieces of art!

    Reply
  12. Absolutely fabulous! I need to go and but some old spoons now!!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

