3 Challenges, 5 ATCs!

It’s been a really hectic, but thoroughly enjoyable day today… took my Halloween artwork to the gallery this morning and had a long chat with Martyn, who had immense trouble trying to price and ‘categorise’ what I do. We both agreed that there’s no “box” I fit into… imagine that?!

Came home and started making some ATCs with recycled card from the beloved Scrapstore. These are fab because they’re 5.5″ x 3.5″, so I can get 2 ATCs from each card and only cut twice! What a time-saver. Had almost finished them when our dear friends arrived for brunch – traditional bacon sarnies and mugs of tea. It was so warm and sunny we spent the best part of 4 hours in the garden, chatting and laughing… and I even got all my washing dry.

So, here are the 5 ATCs… a set of 4 crows (Theme ThursdayBirds) and Created by Hand (Stencils). I had a clear plastic folder which I’d cut from one of those accordion files that broke, so I cut a bird stencil from that, amongst other things… which is what I’ve used on the set of 4 ATCs.

bird-black

bird-nesting

bird-song

bird-spotted

So far, so good, I thought. Then I got out my favourite stamp from Third Coast RS – The eyes have it… I thought I’d use that for the Double Trouble challenge at this week’s Wednesday Stamper. So, I stamped the first image onto a scrap or recycled french book text for the upper half of the ATC. I then stamped and embossed the same image below, directly onto the background. Yuck! If the embossing goes wrong or doesn’t show the image, I have in the past, overstamped the entire image with black stazon (or similar) to make it clearer. Did that and it still didn’t look right, so I cut a bit of a cello bag up, stamped onto that with brown stazon and attached that to the whole ATC with staples. At last! I could see the image clearly… and then when I scanned it, look at the shine/glare from the cello cover! Hah!

Eyes-WS

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. Sandy

     /  October 8, 2009

    Wow Rosie these are stunning.
    Amazing ATC´s.

    Reply
  2. Beautifully done ATCs !

    Reply
  3. Wonderful ATCs Rosie.

    Anke

    Reply
  4. I love your bird cards. I like the idea you have of doing a group of them. The sewing around the edges looks fab as well as your 3D elements.

    Reply
  5. oh my, you have been busy! your atc’s are lovely and i really like the leaf with the fibers that look like straw and grass!

    Reply
  6. very nice. nice that you used your own stencil

    Reply
  7. I love your birds and the colors you’ve used in those ATCs! Great combination!! Hmmm, I’m going to have to use that palette in something! I really love it!! XOXO

    Reply
  8. great atcs! love that crow!

    Reply
  9. Love all your ATC’s Now I want to go do a crow!! Inspiring

    Reply
  10. Rosie, your crow cards are beautiful. Crows are probably my least favorite bird and I would never have thought to say they were beautiful, but you’ve captured a special look with them. I love the texture and the add-on elements. Gorgeous work. I’m not surprised they couldn’t find a category for your art. Yours is unique and wonderful.

    Reply
  11. They all look great! love it.

    Reply
  12. Beautiful work, well done.

    Reply
  13. great halloween atc’s Rosie!!!

    Reply
  14. Wonderful pieces.

    Reply
  15. great ATC´s !
    I love your design!

    Reply
  16. Amazing work, Rosie! I love them all! LynnF

    Reply
  17. Great idea and a wonderful piece of art as a result!

    Reply
  18. Amazing cards,great idea, love it

    Reply
  19. Wow, great work!! love them all!!!

    Linda

    Reply
  20. belinda

     /  October 11, 2009

    all atcs are fabulous, love the crow-ful variations as well

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

