Fashion-able…

This week Diane set us the theme “Fashion” over at Mixed Media Monday. I’ve taken the green path with my interpretation and made this altered journal page entitled “Tis fashionable to “Grow You Own” nowadays…”

MMM-fashion

This started out really differently – I had used very muted tones and a few collage elements, experimenting for the Supernova class. I had some very dark emotions that needed to come out, so I got the words down in pen and ink scrawl and then was amazed to see them ‘break up’ as I worked a colour wash over them… very cathartic! I then added a layer of monoprinting and brayering and a squirt of golden mica spray which I use on paper towels!

There’s a bit of  Teesha Moore around the edge of the page and a whole lot of Layer Love going on here, as I doodle and paint away, searching for my own style. I’ve used very old scrapbook stash elements – seed packet pics and ‘season’ – and strips of paper onto which I doodled leaves, using sharpie poster paint pens in black and white.

DH needs a scan of his left kidney and whichever you cut it, that doesn’t sound promising, so I expect the next week or two to be a stresser, till we know what we’re dealing with. I always try not to worry till I know what I have to worry about, but sometimes, you just can’t help yourself, can you?

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. When I tried to grow my own the slugs and snails ate it!
    So much depth in this. I love layers!
    Good health to you and yours.

    Reply
  2. That’s gorgeous Rosie, love the colours and the white highlights.

    Sorry to hear about DH, you’re both in my thoughts and prayers.
    Sian
    x

    Reply
  3. This is absolutely stunning, Rosie. I love the way the browns did and how the lettering turned out. What talent!

    Last night I discovered tucked up under some leaves a bell pepper that had been there so long it had turned red. We had it in our salad and it was so delicious. Funny, all summer I kept trying to get a pepper to stay on the plant long enough to turn red and it just wouldn’t happen. They just didn’t want to turn. So my “garden” is still going on. I have a couple of peppers that are small and one tomato. Not sure any of those will mature.

    Hope all goes well with your hubby.

    Reply
  4. Gorgeous Rosie, as always! I love how you’ve incorporated the harvest colors in with the theme of growing your own! And yes, it is fashionable these days! I just wish I was good at it!

    All the best wishes for a good outcome for DH!! Worry accomplishes nothing but a weakened immune system and exhaustion, so try to avoid it, hard as that may be! Positive thoughts and hugs!!! XOXO

    Reply
  5. This was very clever, and the design is beautiful.

    Reply
  6. Gorgeous page!

    Reply
  7. mixedmediamonday

     /  November 15, 2009

    Rosie, this is amazing! Isn’t it lovely to see our art change and grow as it takes us to places we didn’t expect. My thoughts are with you and your hubby while you get things sorted out. Diane

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo