When I grow up…

Wednesday Stamper’s theme for this week – When I grow up! I thought this was such a fun theme. My card, which is about 5.5″ x 2.5″, is a mishmash of background layers – gesso over metallic oil pastels, watercolour washes and stamping.

The stamps are all from Home Impressions Cogs and Clocks plate. These cogs want to be clocks when they grow up! I used the single lomg hand stamp for the ‘grasses’ at the bottom. It’s a bit wacky/surreal, but was fun to do. The flower petals are punched from an old book and I used Sharpie Poster Paint pens for the highlights and a white Posca pen for the dots!

It’s so cold again at the moment, my brain doesn’t seem to be functioning at its best. I managed to get out today to pick up meds and go to the Post Office, and popped into the Gallery too. Bude was quite deserted and I even found a parking space outside the Library, where I returned my books and found a couple of good ‘uns to read, only to discover I’d left my Library card at home! Doh!

It was unsurprising, given the condition of our weather and the roads beyond town, that the library was closing at 4pm today – to enable staff to get home safely. Very sensible indeed, and I hope everyone did. Looks like we may get even more snow over the weekend too… Brrrr…!!

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Fasntastic design and colours, love it!!!

    Reply
  2. fantastic Rosie!! great colours and design!

    Reply
  3. This is my first time i visit here. I found so many interesting stuff in your blog especially its discussion. From the tons of comments on your articles, I guess I am not the only one having all the enjoyment here! keep up the good work.

    Reply
  4. I LOVE this! Great colors and grungy textures, and I LOVE the gears!! XOXO

    Reply
  5. Deirdre

     /  January 9, 2010

    They want to grow up to be clocks, what a cool take on the theme! I like the way your brain works when it’s cold! Nice job.

    Reply
  6. Surreal but serene somehow, Rosie. I think this is beautiful. We even had snow here in Georgia yesterday. It’s freezing!

    Reply
  7. It’s amazing to read posts that are so clearly described and spot on as your article is. I did learn alot from it and I have tweeted it to my 1400 fans as well as linking to the blog post.

    Reply
  1. Grow up Sampler « Wednesday Stamper / Mittwochstempler

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

