Love is in the air…

The Three Muses (down to two for a while!), have thrown us up in the air this week – and I had the perfect collage sheet from the Crowabout Flickr Group to play with. In my 8″x8″ journal, I gessoed a page and coloured it slightly pink, to complement the theme (a tip from Milliande!) ready for images, pens and borders…

Most all the images and words are from the collage sheet; I just added a few letters and the birdie in a cup. It seemed appropriate to put him in it, because even though I often feel my life has absurd things in it, my cup is always at least half full, never half empty!!

I think this whole “Balance” concept is working very well for me so far this year. I am knuckling down to all the horrid tasks I tried to avoid last year: I’ve done a year’s personal filing, shredded a year’s worth of old bills, etc. (That alone filled 3 recycling bags!) and I now have all the papers ready for both sets of accounts. I just have the data to enter, but no problem, that’ll take a few days and then I’ll be ready to see what the rest of 2010 has in store for us!

DH is going great guns with Reels on Wheels this year: He’s entered the World Carp Classic, has put in for Fish O’Mania tickets, is contemplating entering the Mavers Pairs again this year; the ROW Annual Fishing Festival is almost sold out and we have acquired a couple of new high-profile patrons… We went to look at a local fishery this morning, not far from home so that Nick has somewhere accessible to do an interview soon and so on. It’s going to be a really busy season, I think!!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

24 Comments

  1. Just saw this on your FB and have to leave comments everywhere!! I love this so much! It’s my all-time favorite of all your work!! XOXO

    Reply
  2. Sandy

     /  January 20, 2010

    Wow wow wow wow and again WOW !!!
    Love your fantastic work Rosie.

    Reply
  3. So vibrant and colourful

    Reply
  4. WOW, love this!! love the blue int the center of all the wonderful pink !! Gorgeous creation!!!

    Linda

    Reply
  5. Love is in the air… everywhere I look around… very cute and a lorra lorra fun!

    Reply
  6. ellen

     /  January 20, 2010

    wow, love the measuring tape with the measure of love, the doodling, the full cup, the whole lot.

    doesn’t it feel great to have done something you’ve been dreading to do for ages. such a sense of achievement

    Reply
  7. That is a rich and great collage. It is so full of details

    Reply
  8. I love that bluebird of happiness smack in the middle of Valentine pink and red! I’m a fellow cup-half-full person. The slate in my kitchen reads “Think happy. Count blessings” because I feel it’s a choice. I so envy your shredding prowess. I acquired a shredder a year ago, and to this point I have studiously avoided the thing! Hmmmm I feel an art piece coming on ……the Queen of Procrastination! Great work, Rosie. I’m so glad you visit our challenge!

    Reply
  9. Hey, I’m on a diet and your scrumptious collage reminds me of lollypops and all things sweet! And how wonderful would it be if we could train birds to lay their eggs in the egg cup to save on labour! Rosie, this is stunning. Everything you do is such a pleasant surprise because I know it is going to be something completely different from the last one. ( I love ripping up paper to get rid of my “aggro” at times. I wonder if shredding it through a machine gives the same satisfaction).

    Reply
    • Not sure if it feels as good Marie, but the shredder noise is highly entertaining when mimic-ed by the parrot!! Lol!

      Reply
  10. barnie

     /  January 20, 2010

    Fantastic colours and so much to see.

    Reply
  11. How incredibly beautiful, Rosie!
    Your imagination is endless.

    Reply
  12. We’re definitely on the same wavelength, Rosie. This composition itself is so balanced- -the borders, the doodling, the words: perfection! Love the colors too.

    Reply
  13. Rosie, this is awesome in every way. It just has such a marvelous sense of energy about it in the way that it is designed, the elements used and your balanced arrangement of it all. Brilliant.

    Reply
  14. Lovely & fun imagery…your collage style is great! Thanks for sharing..
    Smiles,
    Susie

    Reply
  15. Lovely whimsical piece!

    Reply
  16. Very beautiful!

    Reply
  17. I am so happy for you, it sounds like your cup is definitely running over! Beautiful collage. It is filled with joy.

    Reply
  18. billiescraftroom

     /  January 21, 2010

    Hi Rosie

    Beautiful page, I love the colours and the bird is my favourite. Lovely shading and doodling.

    Best wishes

    Billie

    Reply
  19. Hi Rosie,
    This is a beautiful creation, love the colors. Wow!!
    Debby

    Reply
  20. This is awesome, girlfriend. So many interesting things to view, and I love your littl bird addition. Beautifully created artwork. Hugs, Gayle.

    Reply
  21. Love is really in the air with beautiful art work.

    Reply
  22. Wow. You’re all geared up for Valentines Day, and I haven’t even thought about it yet!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

