Human vs. Nature?

It could only be The Three Muses again this week, couldn’t it?! When I saw what Marie has done to those fish, I don’t feel bad about this “Baby Face”!

Human vs. Nature?

I have had the face in my journal for ages. I had no idea it would become this page, but I really like it! The page in my old girls’ annual was gessoed and then had the image stuck on it . More gesso to blend in the face and page and then some headlines from that old Guardian Newspaper I found…

Interestingly enough, the article I used at the top was about one of the UK’s first Nuclear Plants. That’s what inspired the title of the piece – especially the baby face ‘radiating’ in more ways than one! The “This child needs you” came from an advertorial about fostering kids.

I took a lot of time playing with a charcoal pencil and Neocolour crayons, blending with a paper stump and a waterbrush. Then came the pen work – much less though. I have to go and work on a market stall now and it’s cold and damp…brrrrr! But I look forward to seeing what everyone else does with this theme when I come home later!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. Sandy

     /  February 17, 2010

    OMG Woooooooooooooooow !!
    This is amazing.
    Fantastic work Rosie.

    Reply
  2. great!!!!!
    xx Susi

    Reply
  3. This is gorgeous!!!

    Reply
  4. Ellen

     /  February 17, 2010

    what an impressive piece ,it makes you think
    such a striking face.

    Reply
  5. You’ve given us something to think about along with an amazing face. Love those eyes!! I’m so glad you find time for art in your busy life — and more than that, I’m SO glad you find time for us!

    Reply
  6. Rosie, this is such a beautiful, thoughtful piece. I am in awe of your drawing skills. Those eyes see straight through me. They are quite hypnotic. The whole effect is stunning in every way. Your artwork is something worth waiting for each week. Fantastic.

    Reply
  7. Poor baby! Very clever piece Rosie – I love looking at pieces that really make you think as well as being so visually appealling.

    Reply
  8. This piece is adorable. Love the whole composition!

    Reply
  9. barnie

     /  February 17, 2010

    Great work, looks fab.

    Reply
  10. Wonderful thoughtful creation – so unique and beautiful Rosie!

    Reply
  11. your piece is just stunning. i love the rich colors and that sweet little baby face!

    Reply
  12. i LOVE this more than i can say!!!

    Reply
  13. Rosie–this is so cool–both the collage and background are outstanding!!

    Reply
  14. what a fun and magical piece! I love the expression. Finally catching up on blogging and will send you an email here in a moment! 🙂

    Reply
  15. It’s unique and a beautiful composition. I love specially the fascinating eyes.
    Hugs Anja

    Reply
  16. Beautiful and well thought out piece!

    Reply
  17. The child’s eyes are really very striking – the look goes straight to my heart.

    Reply
  18. Phoebe

     /  February 23, 2010

    Thanks for sharing this–the collage and the current events to make us think–fabulous art piece!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

