A Nice Cuppa Tea…

The best drink of the day for me – a cup of PG Tips with milk and one sugar, not too much milk, not too strong, just right! That’s what I start the day with and the first thing I have when I get home from Market, especially on Wednesdays!

I created this altered page in my old girls’ annual for this week’s Three Muses challenge – a nice cup of tea. I was looking for a tea cup and saucer for my collage and couldn’t find one, but I did have a pic of “Monkey” from the PG Tips box that I could use and, as the commercials are always really funny, I decided to construct my collage in the same vein.

Confused? Why not take time for tea...

I cut up some phrases from a magazine advert and rearranged them so that they make no(n)sense! And then I had more fun piecing together cut out words and phrases to go on Monkey and with the teapot! I find cutting up words very absorbing… The background was really quickly painted with some peach emulsion and bright orange Stewart Gill paint over the top. The heart flowers are my handcarved AIW stamp and the paw prints (just for fun) are from a set of mini stamps I bought years ago!

The smaller text reads: “Confused? Why Not take TIME FOR TEA  when freshly poured with a stylish pot… Enjoy this home intelligence. Whatever your style, there’s a vintage teapot… Clockwise from top!

Next Post
Leave a comment

24 Comments

  1. Good old Monkey. I expect he earns quite a decent living from his advertising commitments – and as much tea as he could possibly want to drink. I’mn off to kick off my top button…

    Reply
  2. Absolutely adorable! Hugs, Terri

    Reply
  3. ellen

     /  March 24, 2010

    undo your knickers in the air ? does he belong to the whatsitclub??

    fun creation Rosie, i’d never seen that monkey must pay more attention to adverts.
    Love the colours you used

    Reply
  4. I think I will pour a cup and enjoy your piece!!!
    hahahaha….cute work!!!

    Reply
  5. This is wonderful,love it!!

    Reply
  6. This is so fun- I love this entry Rosie!

    Reply
  7. This is gorgeous, Rosie…what a wonderful art piece. So many interesting elements to enjoy. Well done, as always.

    Reply
  8. So fun!!! This is a delightful tea themed piece of art friend.
    Smiles,
    Susie

    Reply
  9. Rosie, you crack me up. I started at the top of your collage and wondered what was coming towards the bottom. Of course, a cuppa is the cure for anything and everything. I love strong tea, just tea, no mamby pampy scents and oils added. Strong enough to be rot-yer-socks strong. Very hot with just a slight dash of milk. Australia’s national beverage. Mmmmmmmmm.

    I love your sense of humour and I love your style. Your art never fails to pack a punch. Great work.

    Reply
  10. This made me smile!!!!

    Reply
  11. Such a fun creation….and I know you had to have fun making it!

    Reply
  12. Sandy

     /  March 24, 2010

    Wow Rosie your work is fun and absolutely unique.
    So great collage. Love them.

    Reply
  13. johanna

     /  March 24, 2010

    fantastic collage again!! love your style so very much!

    Reply
  14. This is fabulous – I’m a great fan of Monkey and you have put him in the perfect setting; I never realised he was a proponent of the Mile High Club !?!

    Reply
  15. Funny and beautiful!

    Reply
  16. I like your use of the old annual…and the words…I know what you mean about cutting out words being absorbing…it’s a bit like being a child again…and that tea, I’ve never seen the monkey over here (in Australia) so don’t think it’s made it over this way!

    Reply
  17. I’m all for undoing my knickers, RosieRowe, and I found your page absolutely enchanting, full of good humor and cleverness. I love extemporaneous magazine collage. It always takes on a life of its own. You’re such a welcome addition to our list of contributors. We’re honored you find time for us!

    Reply
  18. taluula

     /  March 24, 2010

    Aah a nice cup of Yorkshire tea for me, no sugar, not much milk and strong enough to stand the spoon in.

    I have one of those little monkeys, I defected to PG Tips just to get him …. just the once though.

    Rosie this is splendiferous and wonderful and full of fun and I love it.

    Reply
  19. WOW that´s a really great artwork!
    Love it!!

    Reply
  20. barnie

     /  March 24, 2010

    Time for a cup of tea… Rosie, you collage looks fantastic.

    Reply
  21. Lovely and fun Rosie … makes me ready for a cuppa!
    Brightest of Spring Blessings to you and yours!
    oxo

    Reply
  22. What a fun and great piece. look out for those knickers, LOL…

    Reply
  23. This is priceless – so much fun! Cheers!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

