Mona – Flowerpot Girl!

Created this evening with the Mini-Mona ATCs freebie from Trish Bee’s new Techniques Zone Blog… for Crazy Amigos – Flowers (her hat); Created by HandEarth Day (the hemp and scrim covered jar) and The Three Muses – Hats and crowns and wings and things – all of the above!!

The flowerpot girl!

I slid her into plastic tubing and stitched round her, adding german scrap wings and a fabric flower for her hat/crown… Then I made a slit in the back of her plastic tube and inserted a giant lollipop stick/tongue depressor. I intend her to become a decorative stick for my plant pot, but meanwhile, she’s taken up residence in this upcycled spice jar, covered in scrim, hemp string and wool, with a dash of fabric in ‘natural’ colours!

Earthy, upcycled spice jar!

Trust me when I say this is simple to do and very satisfying – just cover a jar with tacky white glue, and strings/fibres… I used the scrim so that the hemp would have a base to grip on. It seemed to stick very easily and I like the effect.

I’m off to Tintagel Market with DH tomorrow at some silly hour, for the day, so I’ll catch you all over the next few days! 🙂

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. WOW…quirky…fun!!

    Reply
  2. Your Mona Flower pot lady is delightful, Rosie. I keep meaning to look up in wikipedia to see what german scrap is. I can’t really tell from looking at it on the screen. Mona’s bright yellow flower is really gorgeous, and I always admire your use of the sewing machine.

    Reply
  3. Rosie – I never cease to be amazed at where our Mona turns up. We see her in so many clever guises! Just when I think I have seen ’em all, I open your blog and WHAMMO there is the best one ever, especially as it has been created within the confines of an ATC. It is so clever and beautifully designed and completely original. Take a bow because I am sending you a huge standing ovation.

    Reply
  4. forrestwife

     /  April 22, 2010

    striking! looks like it was fun to create. thanks for playing

    Reply
  5. Oh, Wosie Woe, you’ve done it again!! Mona is outstanding, and what a lovely addition to a flower pot she’ll be! And the jar! Oh my goodness, what fun! After I read you’re going to Tintangel Market, “To market to market to buy a fat pig” keeps playing over and over in my head ……

    Reply
  6. This is great Rosie- I love your unique take on these themes always lovely and creative!

    Reply
  7. amy

     /  April 22, 2010

    gorgeous sewing along Mona-love her sweet wings too.

    Reply
  8. gorgeous!!! love her hat!!

    Reply
  9. Absolutely gorgeous! and I love the jar too!!

    Reply
  10. Wow, this is wonderful.

    Rosie

    Reply
  11. Blooming gorgeous!!

    Reply
  12. taluula

     /  April 22, 2010

    Well Miss Rosie, there you go again weaving your particular magic and making this STUNNING stunning piece with your own talented hands and creative imagination. As usual I am in awe.

    Reply
  13. Might I just say, “WOW!” Your Mona is fabulous!!! Standing “O” for your creativity!!! Hugs, Terri

    Reply
  14. barnie

     /  April 22, 2010

    😀 Such a fantastic idea. Cool flowerpot Mona

    Reply
  15. Beautiful!!

    Reply
  16. Nice. Interesting jar.

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

