Sewing mends the soul…

(Author unknown)… is one of the quotes to inspire over at SPA today. The theme is sewing and of course, I had to join in! Teesha Moore seems to have inspired a lot of us to take up the needle and sew small padded rectangles, stuffed, and quilted in our own fashion, stitched with a rolled edge and then embellished – for fabric journals, etc. Her videos are brilliant and you can see exactly how it’s done – such a truly generous soul, Teesha.

I am no exception, except that I have chosen to machine-stitch and  embellish my postcard. It is quilted, but I used a coloured paper clip to attach the flower button and hold the flower in place (see the back!!)

"Sewing mends the soul..."

Not quite sure how I shall use this one yet, but I’ll have time to think about it later this year, when I have more hours for me! At the moment, I am taking a Teaching Course, one evening a week and that’s a challenge, I can tell you! I haven’t actually been involved in proper learning for myself for over 30 years… Thanks goodness I blog, or I’d be completely out of my depth!

I think the back turned out fine! The vintage image is part of a Collage sheet set from Ten Two Studios.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. A nice colorfull piece! Beautifull stitching!

    Reply
  2. Sandy

     /  May 2, 2010

    OMG Rosie this is perfect.
    Amazing fabric art again. Love it.

    Reply
  3. I love this detailed bright piece!
    And you also used my favorite resource, Enchanted Mercantile!!!
    Happy sunday!!!

    Reply
  4. fabulous fabric art!!! love it!!

    Reply
  5. johanna

     /  May 2, 2010

    love the happy colors! great fabric card!

    Reply
  6. Rosie, this piece is just brilliant, fantastic, totally awesome, wow, what more can I say. Love it.

    Reply
  7. Beautiful fabric art!!!

    Reply
  8. dutchstamptramp

     /  May 2, 2010

    Fabulous! Love every inch of it

    Reply
  9. Beautiful fabric creation!

    Reply
  10. Woooo Hoo! You did good there lovie!

    Reply
  11. Beautiful sunny piece! I like the energy of this one!

    Reply
  12. Absolutely gorgeous

    Reply
  13. yasmindeboo

     /  May 3, 2010

    Gorgeous fabric art.

    Reply
  14. What fun! Love your colors!

    Reply
  15. p

     /  May 11, 2010

    awesome fabric art..inspiring works of art

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

