Monty Python’s Flying Circus

I love the madcap, quirky challenges provided by the Three Muses and have chosen to journal a page about Monty Python’s Flying Circus. I don’t think any other group of comedians in the UK has come close to their very odd, wacky style of humour. You were/are either a fan or not – just like marmite – love it or hate it!

"Hello Mrs Cut-Out!"

I remember my Mum used to try and enjoy it with me, but being of German origin, I think most of it went straight over her head! My favourites were Mrs. CutOut and of course Eric 2-sheds Jackson! I can even still sing The Australian Philosophers’ Song, hmmmm!! I was lucky enough to see the entire cast perform live at an Amnesty International event, back in 1979/80… those were the days!!

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Your fantastic odd bird creation made me smile. Love what you have done with it.

    Reply
  2. barnie

     /  July 28, 2010

    Great take on this theme. I’m not familiar with Monty Python….

    Reply
  3. What? No dead, deceased, no more parrot?
    Great fun this Rosie – always looking on the bright side of laugh ta da ta da ta da ta daaa

    Reply
  4. What a great odd bird creation, Rosie. Thanks for the big smile on my face!

    Reply
  5. Great work! I love it.xx

    Reply
  6. I don’t remember Mrs Cut-out, Rosie, but she’s certainly no ‘dead parrot’ here! Great wacky take on odd birds, still smiling!!

    Reply
  7. taluula

     /  July 28, 2010

    Oh those WERE the days Rosie, and Mrs Cut Out was a hoot …… get it …… hoot! Monty Pythons Flying Circus was definitely responsible for my quirky sense of humour and even more quirky art. You have illustrated Mrs Cut Out beautifully and made me so happy to remember those genius ground breakers in comedy. Standing O from me.

    Reply
  8. This looks fabulous – all I know is the tune – and I can’t get it out of my head now!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  9. Hi Rosie!!!! looks like you had a blast with this piece!!! wonderful work!!!

    Reply
  10. Oh, Wosie Wo, you never cease to entertain me! This is rollicking good fun, as only you can do. (And sometimes it’s hard for ME to remember I’m a grandmother!)

    Reply
  11. It’s fabulous, Rosie. Unfortunately, Monty Python went over my head when I was young, but I’ve seen some of the Amnesty show on TV and it was a hoot – you were so lucky to be there!

    Reply
  12. Wow, this is a great work

    Reply
  13. I can still sing “The Lumberjack’s Song” so, Rosie, I am a fellow Monty Python tragic. My adult “kids” despair of all the Monty Python one-liners I use all the time.
    Your “bird” is certainly odd but in the nicest possible way, of course. I love how you have approached this challenge. It is unique and funny and so darned clever. Take a bow.

    Reply
  14. I’m not familiar with Monty Python, but this piece looks gorgeous, Rosie!

    Reply
  15. Great choice for this Rosie!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

