“Seeing red…”

Mixed Media Monday (theme chosen by Beth) and for Sunday Stampers #117 too. Normally seeing red would get me mad, but I found it oddly therapeautic making red roses on this spread – a la Rennie Mackintosh. The page was a mucky beige to start with, in my LTS journal, and I had red Tempra paint which I splodged on one page and then closed the book, squishing the pages together to produce round, textured blobs of fairly thick paint….

Be Beautiful!

The swirls and text are foam stamps from Papermania which I use frequently when I’m working BIG! The latin text is from MaVinci again – one of my faves… I used black paint for the text and blck ink for the swirls. While the red paint splodges were still wet, I also stamped into them with the latin text stamp, which is why you can see red texty bits too!

The mauves and blues are Neos and the white doodles are made using my Posca paint pen. This was so much fun to do, but I must go wash my hands and arms before I can leave the house!!!!! :0)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

26 Comments

  1. CORRRRR… this is simply LUSCIOUS… thanks for joinin in with the Sunday Stamper hun x

    Reply
  2. Pat

     /  August 22, 2010

    Rosie made a page of beautiful Roses.

    Reply
  3. Ooh that’s so rich and yummy. This is a fantabulous piece darling. One of your best yet I think. Would make a great poster. I can see it gracing many a student wall this next term. Quick get some printed then run to your nearest Uni come freshers week – make a fortune 🙂

    Reply
  4. Love love love your red flowers!

    Reply
  5. Great page Rosie!

    Reply
  6. Great work!!!

    Reply
  7. danisart

     /  August 23, 2010

    wow – great !!!!!

    Reply
  8. I was just at the library and saw a book by Rosemary Rowe… is it you?

    Reply
  9. Delicious, Rosie, just plain delicious!

    Reply
  10. johanna

     /  August 23, 2010

    i´m clapping hands – bravo!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  11. Love this red Rosie- has almost a graffiti poster feel to it. Wonderful vision!

    Reply
  12. gorgeous art!

    Reply
  13. taluula

     /  August 23, 2010

    Rosie these pages are scrumdidlyumptious …… my highest accolade! I just love red and you did it proud.

    Reply
  14. Rosie, I love your journal pages!! just beautiful!
    xoxo

    Reply
  15. Just brilliant – utterly, completely, brilliant

    Reply
  16. barnie

     /  August 23, 2010

    Hey Rosie, your red roses and the doodling look fantastic.

    Reply
  17. B

     /  August 24, 2010

    Such a fun painting. It is beautiful.

    Reply
  18. dang! this is so darn cute! I wish I could do stuff like this!

    Reply
  19. Really love this…you have such a creative way with the paint. I haven’t heard of these stamps but they sure are neat.

    Reply
  20. Fabulous!

    Reply
  21. Fabulous roses for a fabulous page!

    Reply
  22. This is just lucious – gorgeous colour – gorgeous elements – gorgeous sentiment 🙂

    Reply
  23. This is wonderful Rosie!

    Reply
  24. Oh my goodness!!!! I LOVE this sooooo much – I love the bold red, the large swirls and the perfect reminder. This is really striking and such an inspiration, Kristin xo

    Reply
  25. mixedmediamonday

     /  August 29, 2010

    You never cease to amaze me with all the wonderful pieces you come up with, Rosie! Diane

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

