Madame Butterfly…

Wel, that’s not really how she started out, but that is what she became. I was drawing again last  night – must keep practising those faces – and I ended up with this:

At a tilt...

Nick did ask me why my heads are all tilted and I just shrugged… I don’t really know, but I like that!! And then when I saw the Take a Word theme for Monday is “Butterflies“, I thought how pretty she’d look as ‘Madame Butterfly’… using brushes and layers of different sizes.

Madame Butterfly

The butterfly background is from Dover (samples); I just changed the colouring to suit me. The butterflies are Photoshop brushes I made from a Dover image sample. I like this, but maybe I should stop “angling” their poor heads!?

Here is Maria Callas singing the aria from the Opera by Puccini…

Leave a comment

29 Comments

  1. Pat

     /  January 16, 2011

    just like you Rosie, an intersting tilt or lilt on life, love you Pat xxxxxxxxx

    Reply
  2. She really IS madame butterfly! And she reminds me of an old Van Morisson song – I think he had a song that’s called like that – I have to look it up, ’cause my memory is failing me… was it on the album “moonstruck”??? Aaarghhh, I will look it up!

    Reply
  3. Wow, Madam Butterfly looks wonderful, love the colours and all the little butterflies.

    Reply
  4. Oh she is such a darling

    Reply
  5. I saw these on Flickr and commented there, too! So gorgeous! …and I love Maria Callas, too! XOXO

    Reply
  6. She is so beautiful Rosie! Your colors are so full of life and spirit- I love this!

    Reply
  7. Wonderful Madame Butterfly, Rosie!

    Reply
  8. Love your spectacular take on the butterflies theme, Rosie, very lively!!

    Reply
  9. Great ’tilt’ on life and on the challenge!
    Glenys

    Reply
  10. Stunning! Beautiful Butterfly artwork.

    Reply
  11. Wow, this is absolutely dazzling, Rosie! Love it!

    Reply
  12. beautiful! seems she is directly looking at me… love the colors, too!

    Reply
  13. she’s gorgeous Rosie!!!

    Reply
  14. Gorgeous effetc Rosie and I love the purple colouring.

    Reply
  15. She’s beautiful! I love what you’ve done.xx

    Reply
  16. Extraordinary painting, love your style and your purple Madame Butterfly.
    Pat

    Reply
  17. Absolutely awesome

    Reply
  18. The tilt is perfect and the butterfly additions made her into Madame Butterfly all right! Thanks for the aria.

    Reply
  19. taluula

     /  January 17, 2011

    Rosie, I saw her on Flickr and like you thought she should make a special appearance at Take a Word. She IS gorgeous … keep on painting my friend.

    Reply
  20. A gorgeous Madame Burrefly Rosie…love that yummy purple just beautiful!!

    Reply
  21. Love your Madame Butterfly Rosie – if I could work out my CD I’d post me singing this aria for you! Have a good 2011 x

    Reply
  22. Hi Rosie! My mind played tricks with me the other day… Van Morrisson has a song that’s named “Madame George” (and not Mme Butterfly)… it’s on the album “Astral Weeks”(1968) It IS a nice song though…!

    Reply
  23. Really gorgeous entry, Rosie. I like the tilt. I tend to do straight up and down faces and they end up looking rather stiff. the painting itself is very lovely, before the butterflies.

    Reply
  24. Wonderful inspiration!

    Reply
  25. The perfect Madame Butterfly – so beautiful, so sad. I based my butterfly piece on an old song “Poor Butterfly” which was, in turn, based on the story of the original Madame Butterfly, (Some useless trivia for you).
    Your painting is superb, Rosie. I just love visiting your blog.

    Reply
  26. A wonderful creation, Rosie

    Reply
  27. Oh she’s sooo pretty!!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

