Feelin’ hot, hot, hot!!

When I was going to dance classes some years ago, we used to dance freestyle Salsa to this great number… and once you start, you can’t stop!! So the Three Muses challenge this week is to use HOT as your theme. I found myself thinking random, disconnected thoughts and then paralleling them in my head with colour and words as I created the background with yellow and orange paint.

In the spirit of using up scraps from my desk and unfinished projects too, I connected the Take a Word (Romance) with these joined up puzzle pieces and they also, being a little racy (hot?), fit the 3M theme… Prompted by Tammy’s (Daisy Yellow in my head) “measure” prompt, I used the quirky eraser stamp I carved on Sunday night along the bottom of the page…

How cool is that? How hot is this? Measure it!

Funny how your mind works, isn’t it?  The bitty specks of black on the page are embossing powder, with which I have been really childish today! I have been reinventing a large canvas*** I wasn’t happy with and I ended up really playing this morning – splattering paint on it and then throwing embossing powder into the paint. Honestly! So I had to see what happened to the fabric flower when I heated it too, didn’t I?  Fine until you overheat it – see page for details… *giggles*

***I am renaming it “Reckless abandon”… Watch this space for photos later this week!!!

Oh and here’s a fun video of that catchy tune…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

28 Comments

  1. Rosie, I really like the measuring stamp – what a great idea? I like that it can sit right at the edge of the page, so cool. Thanks for playing along with the prompts!!!

    Reply
  2. Love the result!!!

    Reply
  3. I don’t visit your blog often enough to keep track (or you blog too much *teehee*) but I’m glad I see this hot piece of art! Fabulous!!!! And – yep – now I have that song in my head…

    Reply
  4. Love your so hot colors which are so lively.
    J’aime beaucoup
    Pat

    Reply
  5. Rosie…love the colors…love the details…love the music…Outstanding work!!!

    Reply
  6. Your piece is absolutely stunning, Rosie!

    Reply
  7. I picture you at your desk somewhat like the mad scientist, Rosie, mixing potions and adding a little of this and a little of that until the whole thing is smokin’ !!! Love it.

    Reply
    • That’s probably so close to the truth Bev!! I can look totally mad and so much of my art is experimental (or just a bit mental when I let go with a big canvas and a pot of embossing powder – lol!)

      Reply
  8. Your hot art work is very COOL, Rosie, fabulous piece, listening to the music as I write this, too!! Thanks for sharing & if it stays in my head I will blame you!!

    Reply
  9. I love it, Rosie!!! Gorgeous art! Bravo!

    Reply
  10. Rosie, once again I’m totally enthusiastic about your work. It’s really great.

    Reply
  11. love this piece!

    Reply
  12. I am imagining you dancing around the house now, paint brush in hand and flicking embossing powder about with wild abandon!

    Nice piece – especially the description of making it!!

    Reply
    • Luckily, I did use a few sheets of old newsprint behind the canvas, but I still had to wipe a couple of splats off the wall! I need a shed or somewhere like that to “work” in… Lol!

      I am very parallel-thinking when I create – was creating the cool blue ATC at the same time. Imagine that!!

      I still have ep all over the place and I’d just better not drop the heat gun… 😉

      Reply
  13. Me, again, Rosie, called in to thank you for the lovely comments on my ‘hot’ piece, I really do appreciate them!

    Reply
  14. Ellen

     /  February 16, 2011

    now that is some great cooking there a bit of this , a bit of that , a sniff of disaster ( that flower turned out special) a fling of powder and the effect is a wonderful dish . love it

    Reply
  15. taluula

     /  February 16, 2011

    Well, Miss Judy, you have outdone yourself this time. If this is what happens when gay abandon takes over, pass me the embossing powder is what I say. Bravo.

    Reply
  16. taluula

     /  February 16, 2011

    Ooooops, meant to say Rosie. (Was just reading Judy’s comment and I got carried away!!!)

    Reply
    • LOLOL!! That’s ok Anne – I do that all the time! I called DD’s BF Ryan the other day! No idea why as his name is Carl, ooops! 😉

      Reply
  17. Well, the colours are realy my kind of stuff Rosie. I use them often.
    Also the grunge and the collage,journal “look”
    What do I have to say more ….I almost saved it !! LOL

    Reply
  18. Rosie, this is sensational! No other word for it! Not only have you given us an amazing artpiece but music to go along with it. I remember that song and, of course, it is now going around in my head and will probably keep me awake this very hot night in Perth, Western Australia. What a luverly, joyful person you are!

    Reply
  19. Great work Rosie. Love it.xx

    Reply
  20. Judy, this is way cool!

    Reply
  21. The more I looked the more detail I spotted. A fab piece Rosie.

    Reply
  22. Rosie, I do love your work, and this is just fantastic! I love the text in your background and how you have highlighted/lowlighted the jigsaw pieces.

    Reply
  23. Gorgeous vibrant creation. Love the puzzle and all other details.
    Have a nice weekend,
    Anja

    Reply
  24. Very cool (for such a hot topic.;>)

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

